Decisions….Revisions…

This post has been a work in progress for several months now…Adding, deleting and modifying its content has been interesting and eye opening.  Curious to hear what you think…

I am who I am and proud of it.  As I have stated before, something that is plainly obvious; I am a work in progress.  I have not changed who I am, because again, I will not allow a list to dictate my success in life or my happiness.  I just hope to change the way I go about my life.  Sharing of myself and giving to others, respecting and honoring myself and those closest to me do remain priorities as always.  The difference being a more efficient utilization of my time and efforts.  Spending time and effort on the people and things that matter… the RIGHT PEOPLE, as I was reminded today…is what it’s all about.

Finding and Defining happiness…

  1. Do what makes me happy.
  2. Live each day in a way that will make me proud; therefore, making me happy.
  3. Make decisions that I can live with in the day-to-day.
  4. Take nothing for granted.  Period.
  5. Have faith in myself and others
  6. Trust myself and my judgement…
  7. Forget regrets.
  8. Live and be me….

So that’s my MASTER list… No time line; no qualifiers or quantifiers determining my overall success in happiness in life.

I decided to break it down into a more attainable and achievable set of goals. … See below for an explanation and the New and REvised list…

RE-VISIONS

In an earlier post I detailed THE LIST; A list of goals I had established for myself when I was much younger that I aspired to achieve by the age of 28.  I resolved that while the list was not completed, I would not let a set of guidelines with a deadline attached define my happiness or overall success.  After reading a fellow blogger’s post (Thanks Nicole!) about her list and recent conversations with long-time counterparts, I have decided to reconstruct mine and start completely over…no deadlines…no pressure…. Just a simple list of things I hope to achieve at any given time.  The items on this new and revised version of THE LIST aren’t numbered, and aren’t  in any specific order of importance or priority.  They vary in their significance from tiny little tidbits that make me or someone else happy to the more lofty ideas that may have made an appearance on my original list…. This list is a compilation of many I’ve had in the last 32 years.  As items are crossed off, new additions to the list will be made. The list is LENGTHY and will continue to grow even as items are crossed off.  ***NOTE:  There will be a PAGE dedicated to the “LIST.”  It can be found at the top of Maggie Mae’s Days Home Page.  Stop back and check on my progress***

HERE GOES….

Try at least one new recipe a month

Keep a house plant ALIVE for a whole year

Fly in an airplane

Visit Washington state

See Phish in concert

Get my first and only tattoo

Children’s book published

Learn photography

See sunrise and sunset at the beach

See 3 shows in New York City

Go on an “alphabet” walk and take pictures of each letter found until you’ve found all 26

Learn how to tie a neck tie

See Coldplay in concert

Take a random, unplanned road trip

Take a walk in the rain

Visit the Grand Canyon

Be silly more often

Take a bus to a small town just to spend a few hours exploring

Put all my pictures in photo albums

Laugh daily

Share my thoughts and words more freely

Go to the drive-ins

Go target shooting

Send a card to someone for no reason

Print all the digital pictures I’ve uploaded

Watch a scary movie

Visit all the museums in the Pittsburgh area

Buy ice cream from an ice cream truck

Get a massage

Pay the toll booth for someone behind me

Host get-togethers more frequently

Surprise someone for no reason at all

Wake up in the morning… take a picnic lunch… get in the car and see where the day takes me

Learn something new once a month for a year

Refinish grandma’s sewing desk

Be a better daughter, sister, aunt, friend, boss

Redecorate parts of my place

Make a difference in at least one person’s life

Get healthy and stay healthy

Travel to Italy and Germany

Find love; be loved.

Blog more often (at least once a week)

Try Thai Food

Go back to visit Edinboro

Make cards to donate to nursing homes

Refinish bedroom set

Tell those who matter “I love you” more often

Show those who matter I love them more often

Do at least 3 craft shows in a year

Write a song

Learn to play piano

Slow dance under the stars

Take a pottery class

Design a greeting card for Hallmark

Get published in a paper crafting magazine

Talk less, listen more

Go to Vegas

Make a stranger smile

Take a cooking class

Go to at least 10 concerts in a year (It’s been done in the past… but quite some time ago now)

Crank up the music and dance a fool at home

Make a “20 Things I Like About You List” for a friend or family member and give it to them

Jump in rain puddles

Make a list of 100 random things about myself and share on my blog

 That’s it… I’m pretty happy with it and am going to make a conscious effort to work at it when  I can… I have as long as I need/want…

Take this challenge… What are your ultimate goals?

4 thoughts on “Decisions….Revisions…

What are you thinking?

