The little things… #1

 

Recently I promised myself to give respect where respect is due.

In an attempt to do so, I have began to notice, appreciate & revel in the little things….the good, the bad & the indifferent. From the little things that make you go “hmmmmmm” to the ones where you say, “what the….?” to the little over looked joys that grace us in the day-to-day.

So today, I’d like to begin sharing with you the first of many newly discovered little treasures.

image

Snow melting…

Monday night we got hit with a snowstorm that dumped a little over 9 inches, bringing along with it a whole new brand of headaches. I guess I should mention that we got a bit more snow than was predicted also creating nightmarish commutes for many as well as closing most schools for the day. We all plugged on through the day in spite of these weather related setbacks. Yesterday, as I stood outside on my break at work, a mere day after the snow fell, I heard a soft, quiet, continuous noise. Looking around with the sun shining down brightly, I heard the trickling of water in the downspout. It was not the noise I was trying to decipher though. It took me a minute or two more to identify that soft, quiet, continuous noise. Then i saw it… little bits of snow and ice falling off of the trees surrounding the parking lot. Hmmmmm. Don’t think I’ve ever heard it or noticed it before. Oddly enough though it brought a smile to my face. Here’s why…. i caught a glimpse of the coming of spring. As the sun glistened down, the snow began to melt as evidenced in the trickling of water in the downspout and the melting snow falling off the trees. The light at the end of the weary, dreary wintry tunnel is getting closer day by day, minute by minute. As a matter of fact, one of my coworkers spotted at rather plump robin perched upon a barren tree branch yesterday as well.

image

 

Spring is a comin’ and with it brings the promise of new life…

 

A fresh start for all of us.

 

What “little” things make you smile?

7 thoughts on “The little things… #1

    • Thanks for stopping by Lizzie! Yep, I’m in Southwestern PA…you never know what kind of weather you’re going to get no matter the time of year; That’s one of the things I love most about this area. I think I’d miss the change of seasons if I lived any where else 🙂

What are you thinking?

