Use your words… Choose your words…

250 px

Image via Wikipedia

  

KIDDOS

Working in the field of Early Childhood Education, at any given time I can be heard telling the kiddos to “USE THEIR WORDS.”

From as young as 12 months all the way up through school-aged children we place a strong emphasis on the use of words, nice words at that, instead of their hands, feet, arms, head etc. 

Through constant modeling, repetition and redirection progress is made and words are taught. 

Lets face it though… Toddlers are tough.  Many times it’s easier for them to display their anger, hurt, or frustration by using their hands or screaming and crying… Take it from me; My office is right next to the toddler room. 😉

There is no greater reward than seeing progress made with any such student who may forget to use their words, especially when a 24 month old CHOOSES to use their words with a peer or a teacher.

ADULTS

We are their first teachers… Parents, grandparents, educators and the like.  It is our job to be a positive influence on our youth; even little ones as young a 1 or 2 years old. 

In my profession, you MUST lead by example.  Little ears are ALWAYS listening… even when you think they’re not. 

School-aged students hear and see too much these days…from tv to video games to internet usage.  They’re picking up on things way too early.  Hearing and learning about things much too soon.

We need to lead by example…

Which leads to CHOOSING your words.  How you say something matters.  What you say matters.  It matters to those little people I surround myself with every day. 

I choose to make a positive impact.  I CHOOSE To be more aware of what I say and how I say it. 

I choose to be more aware…to be a POSITIVE influence.

 

Spread the Word to End the Word

March 2, 2011 is Spread the Word to End the Word day… 

“Spread the Word to End the Word is an ongoing effort by Special Olympics, Best Buddies International and our supporters to raise the consciousness of society about the dehumanizing and hurtful effects of the word “retard(ed)” and encourage people to pledge to stop using the R-word.

The campaign, created by youth, is intended to engage schools organizations and communities to rally and pledge their support.”
Like their Facebook page!  Good cause…great choice…

While tomorrow is a day to not use the “R-word,” reading about the cause is prompting me to be more aware of my choice of words in general.  It’s so easy to slip up and say things that just simply are not nice. 

I am an adult, I am human, I make choices.  Time to make better choices…

Are you up for the challenge???

5 thoughts on “Use your words… Choose your words…

  1. Thanks for letting me know about this word day event… I will get the badge and add it to my post for Wednesday. We do need to be more sensitive about what we say; especially around children.
    Thanks,
    Elizabeth

  2. I’m glad you brought awareness to this! We were never ever allowed to use that word when we were growing up (even “stupid” got us in serious trouble). I’m thankful for it because when I hear words like that, I’m very aware of the impact it could make on others. We definitely need to be careful in what we are teaching our children. Thanks for this, girl!

    • At my school we discourage the use of words like “stupid”… another being “hate”… such strong words with harsh conotations that are thrown around way too lightly. Unfortunately those words ARE acceptable in some households.

What are you thinking?

