Dinner…

I went to the grocery store after work today.

My cupboards were bare…

I made my list before leaving work deciding I’d buy items that would go along with stuff that was in my freezer that I needed to use up. 

I decided this week I would make baked tilapia, Shrimp and veggie stir fry, and Mexican Crock Pot Chicken. The last is a new recipe courtesy of Rach at This Italian Family.  THANKS RACH!  ❤ Can’t wait to try it!

One of the items on “the list”  is for me to try one new recipe a month… So far, I guess I have done pretty well this year.  In January I made the pot roast… In February, I made egg drop dumplings for homemade chicken soup. 

Now on to March…

Ingredients all purchased for two meals I’ve prepared many a times and also the ingredients for the new recipe that Rach shared, having thought about it since it was posted a couple of days ago…

So dinner tonight…

Guess what I made!!!

Nope, not the tilapia…

No, not the stir fry…

Mexican Crock Pot Chicken??? Nope, wrong answer…

Dinner tonight….

Wait for it, wait for it….

A BAKED POTATO! 

It was a long day… I was tired… a baked potato sounded just right. 

Nothing special about it… A little light margarine and a dollop of light sour cream and there you have it.

A baked potato.

I’d share a picture of it if I had thought to do so before I finished it off… I must say it did hit the spot.

Sometimes cooking for one is more of a headache than I care to endure, but I promised myself I’d make a more conscious effort to do so. 

Guess tonight wasn’t the night!  Maybe tomorrow…

For now though, I’ll live vicariously through the lives of some of my blogging buddies as they share pictures of their yummy meals and pass along their recipes. 

I’ve been bookmarking recipes they’ve posted and have begun going through my recipe books…

yes, I know… I forget I have them some times!

Dinner tomorrow… Who knows?!?!?

What’s for dinner at your house this week?  Have any good recipes to share?

5 thoughts on “Dinner…

  1. Hey, sometimes a baked potato is all we need for a memorable meal. I love potatoes because you can dress them up or down… Hope you enjoyed it!
    Eliz

  2. YAY! I’m so glad!! Be sure to let me know how it turns out for you!!

    We totally have baked potatoes some nights. It’s just easy. And always so tasty. 🙂 I love adding a little creamy Italian dressing to it… yum!

    Dinner last night was lemon mustard chicken on a bed of salad and tonight it will be “fried” (aka breaded and baked) catfish! 🙂

What are you thinking?

