Thursday Throwback- “1979” by The Smashing Pumpkins

Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness

Image via Wikipedia

You all know I LoVe music…

From all decades, genres, artists and mediums…

Really there is no single style of music that is off-limits for me…

Always looking for something new… (Not necessarily brand new, but at least new to me)

I’ve gone on in several posts about the importance of music in my life so I won’t go in to great detail again, because I don’t wanna beat a dead horse. 

BUT…

I love the POWER music has… it can cheer you or calm you or transport you to another place and time.

I have SOOOOOOOOOOO many memories associated with music, that I decided I’d like to share some with you!  Exciting, huh? 

Here’s the first one!

The Band:  Smashing Pumpkins

The Album: Mellon Collie and Infinite Sadness

The Song: 1979

The Memory:

Freshman year of college… Lobby rats, the self-proclaimed title of my group of hippie-esk, artsy-fartsy, free-spirited friends who hung out in the lobby of our icky dorm CONSTANTLY!  Always staying up late playing cards, being stupid, eating or cramming for tests/projects at the last minute…Acting a fool at any given moment. 

Quite the eclectic mix of individuals, each bringing something unique to the table.

One particularly unusual sunny day we decided to take our “hangout” outside. (I went to school in the snow belt of PA so there was snow more often than not!) One of us lived on the first floor and decided to turn our stereo speakers out towards the lawn and began blasting tunes.  Happy tunes; Most specifically 1979 by the Smashing Pumpkins.  We’re out on the lawn sprawled out on blankets eating God only knows what we scrounged up for our impromptu picnic/party. Some are playing frisbee, others are dancing, some of us are talking, others still are making flower headbands… Seriously, they did and it wasn’t the year 1979.  It was 1996 or 1997 ( I can’t quite seem to remember if it was in the fall or spring).  

A very brilliant, bright and happy moment that I remember from a significant time in my life.  My first time away from home was filled with lots of ups and downs… Meeting TONS of new people from all different walks of life.  

I was in the process of finding myself.  Heck, I still am today!

I know for sure though I’m not a “hippie;” nor was I ever…but I did meet some pretty amazing people.  Some that helped me to come out of my shell…others that made me wanna crawl back in…Only one that I have remained close with through all these years…some that I haven’t seen or heard from since shortly after freshman year, let alone even think of in my day-to-day.

That is with the exception of when I hear this song… instantaneously I am back on the lawn in front of Towers Hall… Not a care in the world … 

 
 

For those of you that may have missed any of my previous posts about music be sure to check ’em out!  You never know, you may discover a new dig! Here’s a few listed below…

The Long and Short of it

Beautiful Day…

Walking to the beat of my own drum…

Walking to the beat of my own drum…Part 2

So there you have it… my first Thursday Throwback… Hope you enjoyed! I sure have 🙂

2 thoughts on “Thursday Throwback- “1979” by The Smashing Pumpkins

  1. Pingback: “All Mixed Up” by 311 – Thursday Throwback « Maggie Mae's Days

What are you thinking?

