A Book and It’s Influence…

The Last Lecture, a book that Pausch and Jeff ...

Image via Wikipedia

“We cannot change the cards we are dealt, just how we play the hand.”
—Randy Pausch

 

I haven’t been utilizing the topic suggestions for the Post a Day/Post a Week

campaign, however I thought I’d give it a shot today.

I actually touched upon it in “My Releases…” that I posted the other day…

Today’s topic… #68 Name a book that changed your life.

Book:  The Last Lecture

Author:  Randy Pausch

This book was an amazing read.  Can’t put it any more simply than that. 

Randy Pausch was a computer science professor at CMU who was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer.  He thought out of the box…the sky was the limits to him as well as his students…

He was asked to give a speech in what was once known as the Last Lecture series at the University.  The speech would be given in front of colleagues, friends and family, about 400 to be exact.

His lecture, “Really Achieving Your Childhood Dreams” made the media and made it big… he was featured on Oprah and I believe he was also featured on Primetime.  I heard rumblings about his lecture and have to admit that curiosity got the best of me, so I googled “The Last Lecture.”   

If you haven’t yet done so, you must watch the video… have a pen and paper near by  along with some tissues….if you’re anything like me, you’ll be trying to write down bits and pieces; the tissues are a must have for the ending.

His passion, humor and humility are inspiring.

 

Ok… so this leads me to the book that was then created. 

The book went above and beyond the bits and pieces of his childhood goals detailing his view of the world. 

His passion, energy and messages spoke to me.  His love for life…his love for his family…his love for what he did inspired me; The words in his book changed me…

Not in a way that I am no longer recognizable to those around me… not in a way that I no longer live my life as I had before…

His book and lecture changed my outlook on life… I decided I wanted to be a Tigger versus an Eeyore.  No easy task to live up to everyday, but because of Randy Pausch I at least try.

The words in his book as in his lecture are reminders for me to live my life fully…live it earnestly…

 I am a HUGE lover of words… individual words; quotes; prayers; poems; little tidbits of knowledge give from others… 

The walls of my home are filled with them… I view them as words to live by. Little tidbits of wisdom from various people and sources that influence me on a daily basis. 

There are a TON of amazing quotes and tidbits to be gained from The Last Lecture…

His words and message are carried on by many all over the world now.  Although he left this world much too soon leaving behind his wife and beautiful children as well as many amazing family and friends, his legacy and love for life will be carried on for many, many years. 

Here are a few quote from his lecture than rank high on my list and are held close since being first being “introduced” to Randy Pausch.

“…The brick walls are there for a reason. The brick walls are not there to keep us out; the brick walls are there to give us a chance to show how badly we want something….”

“…Did you figure out the head fake? It’s not about how to achieve your dreams. It’s about how to lead your life. If you lead your life the right way, the karma will take care of itself. The dreams will come to you….”

“…Wait long enough and people will surprise and impress you….”

“…The best way to teach somebody something is to have them think they’re learning something else…”

Are you living your life as an Eeyore or a Tigger?

Are you living your life earnestly?

What were your childhood dreams? Did you achieve any of them?

6 thoughts on “A Book and It’s Influence…

  1. You wrote an excellent review of Randy’s book. The video still amazes… Thank you for your writeup in a time of change and strife.
    Elizabeth

    • Thanks Eliz… Not sure that I really did it justice! There really aren’t words to fully describe how much his lecture, his life’s lessons, have guided me since first seeing/reading.

    • You’re welcome heidi and thanks to you for stopping by today! You should absolutely add it to your list… it’s not very long and is quite the easy read! Let me know what you think 🙂

  2. Pingback: Raindrops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens…. « Maggie Mae's Days

  3. Pingback: Relay for Life: Honor & Remember; Love & Belonging « Maggie Mae's Days

What are you thinking?

