Finally Friday – Refreshed & Rejuvenated

<

Hooray for Friday!!!!

When I was teaching kindergarten, that was the simple cheer we said every Friday during Morning Meeting.  My goal was to make everyday a fun & exciting learning experience,  but Fridays were always my favorite day to be with the kiddos.

We always ended Friday with “Weekend Dance Time.” A time to wind down & celebrate all the hard work, time & energy put in to the week. I taught them how to do the Cha-Cha Slide and Hokey Pokey (among others) and we danced our silly little hearts out while reinforcing basic skills such as, distinguishing between  left & right and large motor skills. TONS OF FUN!!! Wish I could still do that! πŸ™‚

Don’t you wanna end your week that way? πŸ˜‰

Moving forward….

This week was a busy one … the next few are going to be just about the same. Paperwork, craftiness, scheduling field trips, craftiness,  and still more craftiness.

One of the highlights of my week was a special little guy that came to visit me at work yesterday…

My mom brought my soon to be 9 month old nephew (aka P-Dub from here on out) to visit me. He is the funniest & most handsome little ball of cuteness.
image

Spittin’ image of his dad. Definitely brightened my week a bit! πŸ™‚

Today was an AbSoLuTeLy bEaUtIfUl day… sun was shining for the better part of the day & temps were close to 70.

The weather gave me an itch … an itch to do something I haven’t tried doing in over a year… or seriously committed to doing in over 3 years.

I left work with the mission to satisfy the craving …

I changed into my comfy clothes… laced up my Nike + shoes …

Love, LOVE, LoVe my Nike + shoes

hit the workout button on my iPod & took off.

It felt sooo good to get out there.

It had been entirely too long. About 3 years to be exact. I faithfully walked/jogged anywhere from 4-8+ miles everyday & was in the BEST shape I’d been in since high school.

For whatever reason, I stopped… too busy, too tired, didn’t feel like it. Then I got into a car accident last March & used that as my excuse (will talk abt. that a little more next week).

This evening I decided to stop making excuses & just go.

I completed 4.23 miles in 54:36…

I was PUMPED, proud & excited, as well as exhausted & outta breath.

Best time ever
Yes & No…

While the amount of time it took me was NOT my personal best, it was the absolute BEST use of my time this Friday evening. 

I walked a bit & jogged a little… walking for the majority, but none the less I jogged to. Heck, I even jogged part of the hilly route I chose AND I didn’t pass out while doing so. I’ll take it. Gotta start somewhere.

I’ll chalk it up to a great ending to a busy week.

OR

The beginning of a refreshing & rejuvenating weekend. 

A busy weekend at that … If you don’t hear from this weekend, no worries. Just lots to get done before April 9th! 

Geez, this post ended up being ENTIRELY too long especially since I’m doing so from my phone!

Hope you all have a fantastically, awesome, wonderfully, amazing weekend!

Posted from WordPress for Android

9 thoughts on “Finally Friday – Refreshed & Rejuvenated

    • Thanks chica! Today was more difficult than yesterday, but it feels so good. Aches & all! Lol.

      Hope you enjoyed some outside time yourself πŸ™‚

    • It was a blast!!! I miss it since I’m not currently in the classroom … I still squeeze the Friday cheer in when doing classroom visits though. πŸ™‚

      I know I’m biased when it comes to my nephew, but he is adorable isn’t he?! πŸ˜‰

What are you thinking?

