Getaway…

We all need to at one point or another…

Take a break & relax…hang out, chill, breathe, just be.

I’m getting to that point where I’m just itching to get away!

While a trip to Europe,  Florida or even Washington State to visit one of my bestest girl friends ever would be fantastically AMAZING…my sights aren’t set that high. Although doing the above would take care of 3 items on …the list… !

My sights are set on something much more immediate & way more affordable … much closer with the perfect mix of relaxation & fun.

My brother’s cabin, nestled among a quaint little family of cabins, is the perfect place for me.  It’s the perfect weekend getaway to hang out & chill during the day… walking, reading,  cooking out, listening to tunes, playing card games & maybe even a game or two of pong or cornhoke with an adult beverage. Evenings/nights tend to be my favorite… sitting around the fire till the weeeeeee hours of the morning just chilling, relaxing, talking, listening to more tunes (if we’re lucky, little bro will even bust out his guitar), make smores, reminisce or just BE.

Having gone up there since I was a kid (the cabin originally belonged to lil bro’s pap), I’ve always looked forward to going.  I must say though that I truly didn’t appreciate it or look forward to it as much as I do now!

We’re all itching to get up there … lil bro, lil sis, bro-in-law, nephew B-Shane, plus friends. As soon as the nights aren’t too cold, we’re heading up for cabin fun in the mountains!

Now don’t let this fool you… We’re not roughin’ it by any means … i dont sleep in a tent! myself,  lil bro, & lil sis & family each have a bedroom. We have running water, electricity, plumbing & cable. Our version of roughing it involves taking 5 minute showers & driving down the mountain to the nearest grocery store to pick up any necessities we may have forgotten. Just had to clarify!

I guess for me it’s a nice GETAWAY without having to GET AWAY.

It’s a great way to spend time with lil bro & little sis (&fam)… lots of fun has been had together up there & am looking forward to getting up there again soon.

Once my laptop is up & running I’ll post some pictures from past years.

Do you have a special getaway spot?

Pretty sure you’ll be hearing about mine again soon!

Posted from WordPress for Android

6 thoughts on “Getaway…

  1. yep, and i leave on friday 🙂 so excited for portugal. i love it. my favourite is when its out of season and windy and you can just walk along the water line with bare feet. the water is always icy but i love the way the sand squishes between your toes and the fact that sometimes you are the only on e on the beach. ❤

  2. Pingback: Basement Remodeling 101 » Dead Space 2

What are you thinking?

