There’s NO Place Like Home…

Frank L. Baum sure knew what he was talking about when he penned the phrase, “There’s no place like home” for his character Dorothy in the Wizard of Oz.

I sorta, kinda felt like I was in my own version of Oz today from beginning to end!  Well, actually the end of my work day would be more accurately equated to Kansas than Oz, but I’ll get to that in a minute… I told a couple of friends today that I just felt all kinda out of sorts/ in a disarray today. 

Just  ALL. OVER. THE. PLACE.

Woke up not feeling so hot today after a less than par sleep and so began the craziness that was today.  Basically if anything would have or could have happened today, IT DID!  From being short-staffed at work to an unmentionable incident that occurred in the midst of figuring out staff schedules and placements for the day to personal issues to the ensuing storms that blew through our area… it was through and through a BANG UP, wacky day…

Any ways…

 So for as LONG as I can remember, I’ve  HATED thunderstorms.  I mean to the point the used to worry me so incredibly horribly that I would be SICK to my stomach at the sight of a dark cloud, the sounds of the wind picking up or thunder rumbling. Not sure why or when the fear originated as a child, but I quite simply never enjoyed a good storm as some may. 

Here’s THREE of my best weather related stories that explain a little bit of the fear I have for storms, wind, and such.

  1. This one time, at band camp… No SERIOUSLY! This one time at band camp during my freshman year there was a tornado warning ON MY BIRTHDAY.  I remember us all being huddled (well maybe all of us weren’t huddled, but I sure was) in the laundry room of the door we were staying in.  I was a mess.
  2. May 31, 2002… I was working at Kennywood Amusement Park as a games manager as I had for several years… (ok more than several years… like about 8 years.) Had a blast working there, met some of the most amazing people there… Good times for sure!  Until about 7:00 pm on May 31st of that year.  The sky got BLACK above and then it sounded like a train rolling through.  A lot of chaos happened in a very short time… after the storm passed and I opened the stock room door, my mouth about dropped open.  I’m not going to go into all the details, but it was a very sad day for the park.  A life lost, TONS of damage, lots of bad memories for me.  If you’re interested in reading up on the story, here’s a link for one of the local news stations out here and a newspaper article.
  3. The summer before last, I accepted the position I currently hold at work.  My first week  flying solo, after working side by side with one of my best friends who held this position prior to me, tornado warnings began appearing across the tv on the evening of June 17th.  Having just moved into my current 3rd floor apartment I began pacing around and freaking out… Stomach flip-flopping, panicking while on the phone with my friend and my mom.  Decided to go down to the basement with a flashlight, a comforter and two pillows, a radio, my cellphone and a couple of bottles of water.  No one’s down there.  I start freaking out more. Travel back upstairs and lock myself in the bathroom.  I got the phone call…from the best friend… that the school flooded and it was BAD.  Hearing those words snapped me out of it.  Threw on my shoes, grabbed my purse, my flashlight, and my COMFORTER (no.clue.why.) and hopped in my car.  Couldn’t believe my eyes as I began to drive the short 5 minute commute to the school in the pitch black of night, weaving in and out of debris all over the roads.  It was a pretty bad storm… tore a bunch of places around us apart… roads buckled, trees down… Walking into the school and seeing the mess that was left and all that was destroyed brought tears to my eyes instantaneously.  We lost pretty much EVERYTHING on the bottom floor.  Clean-up began, business went on the next day with many modifications to routines.  It was insane.

So THAT’S why I’ve hated storms….  I could go on with a few more, but I get the feeling this post is going to be pretty long already!

Did ya catch my reference earlier?  About the end of my work day being better equated to Kansas over Oz.  Well in true Megan fashion, I was a human tornado all freakin’ day.  ( A term the aforementioned best friend and I use when we are in rare form, ticked off about something or just a big ball of stress.) 

Little did I know we’d have a tornado warning issued today…  “Toto, we’re not in Kansas anymore”… ya, seriously… A tornado warning that lasted until 5:30 PM.  We had the kids in the basement having a “party in the hall” so as not to scare the littles.  Hail about 2 inches pelted our cars and winds were a blowing during the first round.  A friend of mine in a neighboring town spotted a funnel cloud as she called to warn me of the storms.  Good times were had let me assure you.  Brought the kids back up because it looked as if the worst had passed.  Then we got notice of round two… rounded up the kiddos for another “party in the hall.”  The sky was as black as I saw at Kennywood, luckily for us though, we got tons of rain, lots of hail and yet even more crazy wind but we were all safe and sound.  Property unharmed. My nerves a bit rattled, but overall I managed ok.  Having to buck up and be positive for all the kiddos around was the best possible scenario. 

With age I have learned to deal with a lot of things.  Trying not to let the stress get to me… Again, letting go of the worries.  Seriously, what could I do if a tornado was to touch down?  Not one thing that would PREVENT it from touching down.  All I can do is buck-up!

Unfortunately for folks living in Rillton, they were not quite as lucky having had home sustain serious damage.  A local high school lost part of its roof.  Here’s a little bit from MSNBC. Haven’t turned the news on since I’ve been home because quite frankly this girl can’t take another ounce of stress in this day!

At the end of the day, as I walked in my front door I thought… There’s no place like home… Seriously, there is really NO PLACE LIKE HOME.

On a completely unrelated note… I just wanted to add a little tidbit in remembrance to my pap who passed away 5 years ago today. Quite simply he was a ONE of a KIND guy that was hard to please but had a heart of gold beneath his tough as nails exterior.  He had his own way of doing things and only his way was the right way… there was no telling him otherwise.  Some of the best memories we as a family have of him all revolve around the same thing… his words.  he had his own set of vocabulary that you truly couldn’t appreciate without having know him.  (Verizon=Vehr-i-zon, croissant=croos-ent and Amish=Aim-ish to name a few) He gave me the nickname Meginski for some unknown reason which was later shortened to Ginski and he never said his son and family lived in Michigan, he just called them Sheegans.  He was a rare man, an old soul.  He was probably the only person I know that would turn on a football game or baseball game and turn off the audio because he couldn’t stand the BS’ing of the commentators.  He took us kids to the sportsman’s club to fire our first rifles, teaching us how to hit the target or the clay pigeons.  He made some pretty good kielbasa and some of the best pickles I ever had.  While he was tough, he won over many a persons.  Hardest though on those he loved most…had a funny way of showing it.  Miss ya pap.   

 

Ok, that’s all I promise… If you made it this far… THANK YOU FOR READING!  You guys are the best… Have a fantabulous night my friends

Ever experienced a bad storm situation?  How’d you react?

How do you remember those you love that are no long with you?

8 thoughts on “There’s NO Place Like Home…

  1. Here’s to your pap….Great guy….and I think we’ve found the one thing that we DON’T have in common….I love storms!

    • OMG sis! Finally after how many years, we discover something! I wish I loved storms… seriously woulda done my nerves a lot of good today 🙂

What are you thinking?

