Raindrops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens….

These are a few of my favorite things…..

Well, Ok…. Not really BUT….

 I wanted to share with you some of my MOST favorite things in the world!

The little things that make me, well ME!

Outside of the things you’ve learned through my writing… Not the ideas or thoughts I share… Not the songs that inspire topics for discussion… none of that.

The actual THINGS that bring me joy in my everyday life from hobbies to relaxation to at home comforts.  Let me clarify though; I am NOT a materialistic individual as those closest to me can attest to.  I love a good bargain when I find one and hold on to things way past their time.  I find joy in repurposing items.  I know that true happiness does not and cannot truly come from things.  Happiness does come from within and above.  BUT we all have comforts that help us to be the person we are.  The things that bring a smile to your face or warm your heart daily.

Welcome to my world…. Come on in… take a peek!

I love, LOVE, LoVe my middle name… Love the story behind it… Love the reminder it serves as each and every day…  LOVE surrounding myself with things bearing my middle name as well. 🙂 

I’m not necessarily a purse girl… I’m more of a tote bag kinda gal.  You’ll never see me spending big bucks on a Coach Purse… BUT, I have a certain weakness for Vera Bradley and basically all tote bags in general. I have more tote bags than a girl should be allowed to have.  Now I will say, MOST of my Vera bags were purchased in the sale section online.  Can’t pass up a good deal on a bag!  The other bag is brandy new to me 🙂  A parent of one of our students made it… Remember yesterday when I said Mandy and I spent forever in Joanns looking for fabric??? This bag would be why!  Super happy with how it turned out and VERY happy with the prints I chose!

I LOVE to read… Although lately I haven’t read much. I’ve read the Twilight Saga and Harry Potter Series at least 4 times each; pretty sure that qualifies me as a dork, but say what you will, doesn’t bother me much at all!  🙂  Super excited about the Blog Book Club I decided to join… April 1st we begin reading The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch which just so happens to be one of my absolute favorites as I detailed in A Book & it’s Influence!

I LoVe my crackle glass collection… My Aunt and Uncle were the first to introduce me to through their beautiful collection… My collection is quite small, but I love the bright colors and the distinct shapes of each piece.  The greens and blues are my favorites…

I don’t wear tons of jewelry.  I’m a silver, white gold and maybe someday platinum kinda gal.  These are my most favorite pieces that I wear pretty much everyday.  From the Pandora bracelet to the Silpada earrings to the coolest bangle bracelet made out of a spoon, each has its own special character that I find endearing.  Some pieces also have sentimental value as well.

My first set of real dishes!!!  Aren’t they PRETTY?!?!?!?  I’ve had sets of dishes before, but they were either odds and end, mix and match pieces or cheapo college dorm sets.  I have enough for 8 place settings too!  Now I just need to entertain more!

You all know about my love for making home decor… Here are 3 of my absolute most favorite areas in my home.  Each has at least one thing I made.  The quote in the middle piece is one of my favorites and sums up who I am as a whole pretty well… “The future is something we create.”

Reminders of loved ones that are no longer walking the Earth, but guide, guard and protect from above bring me comfort.  The Serenity prayer is something I say every morning… helping to affirm that somethings I can control and those I cannot should be offered to the One that can.   From the quilt my mom made from my step-dad’s clothes to the picture of my grandma in her younger years, I am reminded daily of their influence in my life and their continued presence in my heart always. 

My home wouldn’t be my home without my music… Just a small sampling of the artists who help me breathe, centering me and bringing me back to where I want and need to be.  From happy to sad to everything in between and more, I find music to be simply astoundingly amazing!

I haven’t always been one to wear make up.  I’ve gone through phases over the years in which I’ve not worn a single ounce of make-up to wearing almost nothing to doodling myself up everyday.  I have to admit, I love my make-up and I love the way make-up makes me feel.  You can change-up the color of your eye-shadow or eyeliner and feel like a completely new person.  Thanks to Mandy, I was introduced to Ulta and all that AMAZING store has to offer.  A girl could think she died and went to heaven upon entering Ulta.  Best to leave your wallet at home and enter with only $20! My MOST favorite product would be Urban Decay’s Eyeshadow Primer Potion in SIN.  A coat of this on my eyelids BEFORE applying shadow and I am good to go ALL day.  No shadow in the creases at all!  Definitely my make-up must have 🙂 

I never realized just how much nail polish I had until Jessica, another of my besties, came for a visit from Washington State last year.  She’s the one who snapped this picture…. Paint my nails much?  ALL the time during the summer… When I’m being crafty, my nails are better left unpainted.

Ok… LAST “things”…. I promise! 

I have soooooooooo much crafty stuff… From papers to stamps to inks to die cutting machines to paint to punches to anything and everything else imaginable.  Finding decorative yet efficiently functional storage has been QUITE the challenge living in a one bedroom apartment.  But, I think I have utilized the space I have quite efficiently while still looking pretty.  🙂   These two pieces are my favorites… They were both bargain finds as well.  They are home to my Cricut and Sizzix, my ink pads, acrylic blocks, paper 8×8 and smaller, punches, scissors, pens, paper cutters and much, much more.  For me they work perfectly!!! 

 

So there you have it… My FAVORITE things.

 What are a few of your favorite things that make home, home and you, you?

15 thoughts on “Raindrops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens….

  1. OMG I heart you, why can’t we live closet?!! First, I also love collecting words and have “WISH” in my room and I brought some hanging cards that say “dream”, “love”, “hope” that I need to find somewhere to put. Your CD collection looks as big as mine and I have also repeatidly read HP & Twilight. I get my nails professionally done as I like them to look good also and I also wear make up eveyday!
    I am v jealous of your creative skills I’d love to make things like that 🙂 great space useage as well!

    • I soooo wished we lived closer too!!! Think we’d get along mighty fine 🙂 So cool that you collect words too! I have faith everywhere, but also have believe, hope, dream and happiness throughout as well. Girl, I have sooooooo many cd’s, not to mention all the music in my itunes library. Ok so team Jacob or Team Edward? I can’t remember if you told me that already! Sorry 🙂

      Thanks for your sweet wordsd about my designs. Maybe next year for your birthday, I’ll make you one and send it your way 🙂

    • Why thank you for the kinds words Elizabeth! I love, love, love coordinating things… enjoy the challenge it sometimes presents as well. As for the name, it holds great meaning. A bit of backstory on it in case you missed it…. Before I was born, I had an older sister who was born with health problems. She passed away when she was only 2 years old from complications. Doctors told my parents that there was little chance, if any, of them being able to have a happy, healthy child after Shany passed. My mom, a woman strong in her faith and trusting in her relationship with God, believed that she would and could have another child and a happy and healthy one at that. She did in fact get pregnant in 1977, with me, enduring a long pregnancy with some complications requiring bedrest for a time. When picking out names she chose Megan, meaning strong and abled, for the first name. Faith then was chosen for the middle name as she never lacked in faith that I would be a happy, healthy little baby. While I can’t imagine how hard it was for my parents to have lost a child, I absolutely love the meaning behind my name. I think it’s the collest thing ever. Try to live up to it daily. 🙂 Thanks Eliz!

    • Oh good! Glad you enjoyed it… I certainly had fun putting it together! But snapped way more pictures than I needed, so maybe at some point I’ll add a second part! Yay! Can’t wait to see your take… I’ll definitely stop by 🙂

What are you thinking?

