Shoes to Fill, Hats to Wear and some *BREAKING NEWS*

Hey there friends…

Just a warning a head of time this post is gonna be ALL over the place.  Here, there and everywhere in between because that’s where I’m at today! 

Stay tuned though for some breaking news ahead!!! Don’t go getting your gutchies all in a ruffle, you’ll read it soon enough!!!

Some silly things have occurred in recent days and I thought I’d share one with ya.  All I can say is… I WISH SOMEONE WAS RECORDING US!!!!  

My days at work are always generally pretty busy… That usually happens when you’re the “principal” (as the kids refer to me, although my title is Executive Director)  at a Daycare/Preschool. 

On any given day I never know whose shoes I will fill or which hat I will wear.  The best laid plan just doesn’t always work out when you’ve got oodles of kiddos ranging from 12 months old to 13 year olds in a building on any given day. 

Everyday I wear the director hat but days come along where I can get back to my roots and throw on the teacher hat… unfortunately that usually only happens when a teacher is out sick, which means that soon enough another or I will end up with the icks!

Some days I get to throw on the nurses hat… taking temperatures, wiping scrapes,  healing a cut that is invisible to the grown-up eye with a band-aid or a cold wet paper towel.   Did you know that either could heal just about any wound???  I’ve had to suck it up and deal with more than I’d ever thought I could… but one weak stomach this nurse has.  Throw-ups start and my nurse hat comes off as I  happily pass the torch.  Luckily there are amazing gals willing to take the hat and clean up yucks when this girl can’t!

Sometimes I get to fill mommy’s shoes, wiping tears or comforting with hugs. Snuggling and soothing a weepy wittle one.

 There are days when I play confidante to parents in our families, providing support or a listening ear.

 I play good cop, bad cop and referee sorting out all kinds of things from knocked down blocks to potty words to he touched my tambourine.

Repositioning pony tails or fastening barrettes, a beautician I must be too!!!

An operator. A secretary.  A xerox representative un-jamming a jammed up copier.

You’ll see me slithering, hopping, stomping and clapping while singing many silly songs along with silly faces just to see a great big smile on all the little faces!!!

A clownMe as a clown on any given day but always Halloween,

  

Mrs. Potato head        this year I even was Mrs. Potato head too, can’t believe I’m letting this be seen! 

I can do the best potty dance in town you know…then again it’s better you didn’t!

Yesterday though I got the chance to take on a role that I never have before with one exception involving a little mouse.  I had to put on my “big girl” pants (after much coaxing) as one of the teachers noticed a little bunny “resting” in the parking lot. 

Yep… someone hit a bunny in our parking lot.  Poor little Thumper left alone… Worried that he was still alive a  teacher braver than I went out to investigate.  She did in fact determine that the poor little fluffy tailed critter was at least not suffering.  So now we had to figure out what to do… the poor little bugger was in plain sight of all the tiny little kiddo’s eyes. The teacher braver than I, myself and teacher #2 banded together to try to collect the little thing, while another teacher kept the kiddos inside busy and away from the window.

Now, I must tell you that I had a pet bunny for much of my childhood having gotten Kokimo in 5th grade and had her for 11 years so the thought of a poor little bunny laying in the parking lot was already bringing tears to my eyes.  And remember above when I was wearing the nurse hat? That’s right, this girl has one WEAK stomach…

The brave teacher tells me to suck it up as she is the mother hen of the 3 of us and that’s what mother hens do. Teacher #2 and I are holding a large bag while brave teacher tries to gently help bunny to its new “home”.  Without going into further graphic detail, all 3 three of us end up screaming like tiny little girls when ALL of said bunny doesn’t make it into the large bag teacher #2 and I were holding while the winding is a blowin’… I’m laughing at all of our reactions while crying because I am sad for the bunny to gaggin at the sight and thought of what we were having to do which then in turn created more hysterical laughter.  Now I’m standing there holding this bag, praying I don’t end up with bunny bits all over me, closing my eyes, laughing hysterically, crossing my legs so I don’t pee myself, while bawling and gagging all the while brave teacher is getting frustrated while also participating in the screaming and laughing and tells me to suck it up.    After the 3rd try (and lots of gross details in between) our poor little Thumper bunny was safely contained…  and I sucked it up and put the little fur ball “to rest”  laughing, crying and gagging the whole way.

So I don’t know what type of hat you’d call that or whose shoes we had to fill. 

On any given day, I truly never know just what duty will be required or what my daily role will entail. What I do know for sure is there is never, ever a dull moment… happys, sads and all that’s in-between are just good enough for me. Smiles on the littles faces and arms outstretched for me make my days all the more brighter no matter what or who I need to be. 

 And now we interrupt your regularly scheduled programming for some ***BREAKING NEWS***  …

In recent weeks I have decided to “limit” my Facebook time for several reasons… it’s a blackhole of a time waster… I’d rather be writing…I’m working on crafty things… and most importantly all the complaints of others were getting me down, which in turn would lead me to complain.  NOT WHY I JOINED FACEBOOK! 

Here’s Sally Sassalot with the story on location at the corner of Suck It Up and Move On with more details…

BREAKING NEWS: The Pity Train has just derailed at the intersection of Suck It Up & Move On, and crashed into We All Have Problems, before coming to a complete stop at Get the Heck Over It. Any complaints about how we operate, can be forwarded to 1-800-waa-aaah with Dr. Sniffle Reporting LIVE from Quitchur Bitchin’. If you like this, spread the word. If you don’t…suck it up cupcake! Life doesn’t revolve around you!

 There you have it my friends… I don’t mean to offend anyone with any portion of this post as I’ve been onboard the pity train from time to time myself.  You have a choice to make… there are ALWAYS choices in life. If the choice you make can’t effect the outcome or change your course, give it to Someone that has the power to change things. Be the change.  Be thankful for what you have and who you have in your life.   

THANK you to whomever first posted this tidbit of breaking news on Facebook and to Mandy for sharing it with me.  It truly did brighten may day… Is that weird?  Perspective people, it’s all about perspective!  Did I wanna deal with a poor wittle fur ball in the parking lot yesterday?  NOPE.  Sometimes you just hafta SUCK IT UP and put on the hat for the duty that calls and step into someone elses shoes just to get yourself through the day.

I couldn’t be happier about the shoes I have to fill and the hats I have to wear on a daily basis.  From teacher to mom to nurse to clown, each hat is making me a better person. Each pair of shoes I fill, each challenge I’m presented with, is an opportunity for me to either sink or swim, deal or complain. Sucking it up…

That’s all she wrote folks…

Back to your regularly scheduled programming…

***Check out Captain Obvious’s post about Facebook if you get a chance.

***I am truly convinced that if someone were to have videotaped us dealing with the bunny, I would be $10,000 richer from having won America’s Funniest Home Videos. 

 

What are some different shoes you’ve had to fill or hats you’ve had to wear?  Have you ever had to suck it up and do something you really didn’t want to do?

8 thoughts on “Shoes to Fill, Hats to Wear and some *BREAKING NEWS*

  1. Oh I totally feel you on the bunny picking up…We have cats at the nursery and bunnies are bad, the cats usually take care of it, sometimes they think they need to share, in the parking lot…or the store, nice. I get out of it if I can, but most times not so lucky…not my favorite part of the job for sure!!

    • Ughh. It seriously wasn’t an enjoyable experience, but thinking about it afterwards really made me chuckle! we had to look like 3 crazy ladies acting a fool 🙂 Thankfully it isn’t a regular occurance for me… bless you for having to deal with it more often! ICK!!!!

    • Thanks Eliz… Proof that I do just about anything to make the kiddos (and parents) smile! 🙂 I posted the “breaking news” on facebook and was greeted with overwhelming support from persons in agreement to what it said… Assuming that those who complain, won’t reply to the post! I know the words sounded a bit harsh; I also know that everyone has bad days, but the same people always spreading their negativity were really beginning to get to me! I suppose I should just suck it up and look past their posts!

  2. Aw I bet the kids love you! Poor you dealing with the bunny, I would have struggled to with that, the video would have been hilarious I bet 🙂 I agree on Facebook, it’s like we know it’s raining and public transport sucks – get over it please!

    • Ha ha… Most of the time they love me except when I have to play bad cop/mean principal, bringing them to sit in the office with me. 😉 Most days though it is a pleasure to be able to take at least 15 minutes a day to actually be with the kids on their level when they’re playing or coloring. Helps me get through the craziness of the day! Two of my co-workers are kicking themselves for not recording us as they stood in the window and watched the entire scene play out!!!

  3. Oh my gosh…poor bunny and poor you! Sounds like you all sucked it up and handled it as best as you could. Guess we’ll call it “the suck it up hat” We all need to force ourselves to wear it from time to time!

What are you thinking?

