“Ice Ice Baby” by Vanilla Ice – Thursday Throwback

To the Extreme

Image via Wikipedia

Artist: Vanilla Ice, AKA Rob Van Winkle

Album: To the Extreme

Song: Ice Ice Baby

Memory:

Who doesn’t know this song?  I’m pretty sure I am not alone in “bragging” that I still know all the lyrics for this song…  I hear those first few notes of the opening rift and I am bobbing my head like the day I was in 1990 when this song first came out.  I guess besides the fact that anyone and everyone knew ALL the lyrics for this song and the catchy beats , what I remember most about this song and Vanilla Ice all revolve around appearance. 

Those pants…  What the heck were those pants???  All that extra fabric; the gaudy metallic colors; yet people started trying to pull off that look.  I was certainly digging the way Ice was wearing ’em back in the day, but no one else was able to pull it off.  Looking back, what was I thinking?  What was he thinking?  Doesn’t much matter cause he made $ off of us suckers way back when.

His hair… talk about starting a fad with the fellas.  The high top hair style was quite mystifying to me back then.  How”d he get it to stay with all that flitting around the stage?  Guessing he’s partly responsible for depleting a portion of the ozone layer with excessive use of aqua net or some other large quantity of aerosol hairspray.  Maybe it was a form of lacquer or glue, I just don’t know.  And you can’t forget the “steps” he had cut into the sides.  All the boys were getting steps cut into the sides of their hair, the number of steps equating to just how cool they were.  The more steps, the “cooler.”  Or at least we thought so.

I found this Jim Carrey parody and just had to share it with you….

The moves… Come on now… You know you’ve tried pulling ’em off one time or another.  You can’t deny it.  I remember watching a video of one of his concerts at my Aunt Anna’s house.  There were at least 6 of us trying to dance and sing along, acting a crazy fools. Oh what clowns we must’ve looked like?  Thankfully no videos were taken of the embarrassing debacle that we were.

The movie:  Cool as Ice… I can’t even bring myself to writing anything about it.  Barely thought the movie was cool back then… Now I am embarrassed by the lameness that I so freely enjoyed back then.  Eh, what are ya going to do?  Too young and stupid to know any better. 

So here it is…

Yo! VIP, let’s kick it.

Ice, ice baby.

Ice, ice baby.

All right stop,  collaborate and listen
Ice is back with my brand new invention
Something grabs a hold of me tightly
Flow like a harpoon daily and nightly
Will it ever stop, yo I don’t know
Turn off the lights and I’ll glow
To the extreme I rock a mic like a vandal
Light up a stage and wax a chump like a candle
Dance…..

Well, you know the rest. 

What fashion fad did you partake in when you were younger?  Ever try to imitate the image of a celebrity?

  I will admit, I did have a pair or two of parachute pants back then.  Pretty sure one pair was purple and the other was black.  Haven’t found any pictures as proof though, so we’ll just leave it at that!!!

10 thoughts on ““Ice Ice Baby” by Vanilla Ice – Thursday Throwback

  1. I so remember this parody. It was on In Living Color. I also had a pair of parachute pants and Reebok pumps. I also remember all the girls wearing jelly shoes.

    • ha ha! I never had the Reebok pumps, but I certainly a TON of jelly shoes. Many different colors and styles. They weren’t the most comfortable things to wear, and you always got rocks stuck in the bottoms… I think I may have to do a whole post of 80s & 90s fashion. Ughhh! It was awful!

  2. OK, Stop…now it’s going to be in my head all night. And yeah girl, I remember that fool with his fade and cut in, were they lightening bolts? Man now every time I hear Under Pressure from Queen I have to shake that feeling, you know he was trying to say that the background music was different, because he added some noise, it was sad. It reminds me of a guy from my English class, he was so trying to be Vanilla Ice. I am not sure if this is better than hearing the whatifs.

    • I think you’re right, he may have had lightening bolts for a time. And who was he kidding… the music was the same. One extra note doesn’t make it brand new! But he got us listening and here we are talking about him 20 years later! He did some things right I guess 🙂

  3. Cooking MC’s like a pound of bacon …, hilarious! He’s just been on UK reality show dancing on ice! Remember the Sex boon with Madoona, shudder 🙂

    • He’s been all over the place and was a HOT MESS on a reality tv show over here… for the life of me I can’t remember what the name of the show was. Dude had some rage issues he needed to deal with to say the least. Do you remember when he tried pulling off dreads? No dice for him there. BAD!

  4. I loved that song, the look, the ridiculous shoulder pads and hair, and, of course, the refrain, ice, ice baby. ROTFLOL! 🙂
    Finally catching up after taking time out to handle offline stuff. 🙂
    Elizabeth

    • Ahh! The shoulder pads! LOL. Welcome back Eliz. 😀 Gets to be tricky keeping up with posts, comments and posts of buddies and their comments doesn’t it?! Just not enough hours in the day!!! ❤

What are you thinking?

