To sleep, or not to sleep: That is the question…

According to the all-knowing, high and mighty source of information that is known as Wikipedia, sleep is known as  a naturally recurring state characterized by reduced or absent consciousness, relatively suspended sensory activity, and inactivity of nearly all voluntary muscles. It is distinguished from quiet wakefulness by a decreased ability to react to stimuli, but it is more easily reversible than hibernation or coma. Sleep is a heightened anabolic state, accentuating the growth and rejuvenation of the immune, nervous, skeletal and muscular systems.

Sleep, sleep, sleep!  We all need it. 

Some have no problem ascertaining a plethora of sleep at any given time on any given day.

This would not be me… sleep evades me, not consuming me. 

Some can’t sleep a solid 6 hours let alone a solid 8!

This would absolutely be me.  Even when sleep 6 hours, I wake up at least once or twice every night.

Some fall asleep as soon as their head hits the pillow, while others struggle with the whatifs as discussed here

I wish sleep would take over as soon as my head meets my pillow however, I can never lay my head down and be out like a light.

Some can’t make it through the day with out a nap, while others are doomed if an afternoon cat nap enters the situation.

While generally a nap sounds like a phenomenal idea, I pretty much always could kick myself for taking one… I wake up all kinds of mixed up and confused on the day and generally wake up feeling worse than I did before having taken a nap.

How much sleep do you need?

The National Sleep Foundation  made the following recommendations for sleep…. Are you getting what you need?  This girl certainly hasn’t been!

Photo: A infant sleepingInfants

  • Birth–2 months need 12–18 hours
  • 3–11 months need 14–15 hours

Photo: A toddler sleepingToddlers/Children

  • 1–3 years need 12–14 hours
  • 3–5 years old need 11–13 hours
  • 5–10 years old need 10–11 hours

Photo: A teen sleeping in bedAdolescents

  • 10-17 years need 8.5–9.5 hours

Photo: A man sleeping in bedAdults

  • need 7–9 hours

 

Lately I’ve been having troubles falling asleep at a decent hour… Exhaustion has set in yet I lie in bed tossing and turning for an hour or more at times.  On average during the week I’ve been getting roughly 5 hours asleep a night, give or take a little. And I am HURTIN’ because of it. It’s been rough!  It’s been noticeable to those who’ve seen me at work.  From the controllable yawns that set in to the sleepy eyes that may as well have toothpicks in them to hold ’em open. I’m just flat-out BEAT with all kinds of things going on in my personal, work and crafting worlds at the moment. Add into the mix the nurse’s hat and a momma’s hat I wear on a daily basis and sure enough, this gal catches a lovely cold complete with sore throat, aches and chills, only a week after getting over the yucks.  Generally my immune system is built up pretty high from having been around the kiddos for so many years, but when your engine’s running low on gas to begin with, a breakdown is pretty much a given. 

Last night, I crashed.  Was in bed before 9:30 and remained there until just after 9 am. Fantastically awesome Friday night, isn’t it?  😀 I was so happy that my body finally got some much-needed rest, even if it was through the help of Nyquil.  I got some rest… Yay!  Still not feeling so hot today though and allowed myself to take a nap… now I’m all mixed up thinking it’s Sunday and feel more sleepy than I did before!  Just can’t win!  🙂 

Some have suggested melatonin, so I may just have to give it a shot.  Who knows?  Maybe it’s my golden ticket to sleepy land! 

Are you a dreamer???

 

 
I’m often amazed by some of my dreams.  If not amazed, annoyed, petrified, enamored, disgusted or intrigued.  I’ve had a couple recurring dreams over the years that I just can’t seem to shake.  The most vivid involving a large bridge in which the vehicle I am in is involved in an accident and veers off into the water below.  Imagine my reaction upon moving to Maryland and being in a car with the former boyfriend as we begin to drive over the Bay Bridge and I begin to go in to an outright, full-fledged panic attack. It seems that the Bay Bridge was the bridge making its appearance in my dream without my ever having driven across it prior to moving to Maryland. 

And how about those dreams that you don’t wanna dream; You know the ones that are about people you don’t wanna dream about… or situations you don’t wanna think about.  For me these seem to be the ones that I find myself fighting to awake from only to return to the dream as soon as I drift back into sleep with the unwanted dream picking up right where it left off.  That never happens with the good dreams!

Ahhh!  The good dreams….  the ones you DON’T wanna wake up from but of course always do.  These dreams are the ones you don’t wanna open your eyes from when the alarm awakes you or one of mother nature’s urges feels it needs to be released immediately. 

The falling dreams, the fire dreams, forgetting your shoes dreams.

The dreams you only remember bits and pieces of and the ones you just can’t seem to shake if your life depended on it.

So here’s to sleeping and dreaming… Let the zzzz’s take hold and let the good dreams comes!  🙂 

What kind of dreamer are you? What do you do when sleep evades you?

12 thoughts on “To sleep, or not to sleep: That is the question…

  1. I slept for nearly twelve hours last night too…I am the same as you, it comes with age I guess…well for me anyways 🙂 I sleep way better now that I am back to work, I come home absolutely exhausted…a good thing.

    • No, I think it does come with age for sure! Having a routine such as going to work does help… that’s what was frustrating me… I am EXHAUSTED and couldn’t fall asleep before 12:30. Not good when the alarm goes off at 5:30 if you know what I mean! LOL. Yay, for you for getting nearly 12 hours the other night. Gotta take it when you can! 😀

  2. I’m in such a routine in the week I can’t shake it at weeeknds and rarely sleep past 7am sigh. When I was at uni, I slept got hours so I think getting older and working plays a big part. Also if you have something on your mind or stressed! I hate dreaming about people I havent seen on years including exes, so annoying 😦

    • Yes! I usually can never sleep in on the weekends either … I set my alarm for 9 AM on Sundays for Church but am always wide awake well before 9. And I don’t know if it’s because I wrote about dreams last night or what but I had several of the dreams you don’t wanna have, mostly the “ex” dreams during my sleep. So frustrating!!!

  3. 7-9 hours? I read somewhere that as you get older, you need less sleep. Well, I am definitely sleep deprived. It happens in waves of late, and I miss the days when I could pull all nighters and still be lucid. Now, I’m just tired. 🙂
    Eliz

    • I wish I got 7-9 hours of sleep! I’m beginning to think the majority of us are sleep deprived!!! If I were to get 8 hours of sleep, I’d have to fall asleep by 9:30 PM…no chance of that happening in the near future! LOL. I’ve pulled a couple all-nighters in the past year and it messes me up so badly; definitely not as easy as it used to be at all! I’m with ya, just tired. 😀

  4. I normally get about 6 – 7 hours sleep but wake up feeling very tired as my muscles don’t switch off properly during sleep. When I dream, I physically act out my dreams which can make it dangerous for my poor husband as they are usually violent dreams. (I have written a blog post on this if you are interested!) I can’t drop off to sleep without reading a good book till I find my eyelids drooping.

  5. I have always been one of those lucky people who falls asleep sometimes even before my head has hit the pillow….lol. A persistent cough has kept me awake a few nights, and I can completely sympathize with you, on how shattered you feel with not enough sleep. I have a re-occuring dream, or rather a place- my family has an old summer house, not a particularly favorite place of mine- but one that creeps into my dreams almost every night. Why?!?!? I hardly even ever go there… I don’t know what my subconscious is trying to tell me….

    • Oh that makes me jealous! 😉 I hate when that happens; It’s always the unwanted dreams (or places) that reoccur. Sorry you’ve had that happen…

What are you thinking?

