“Say Anything” – Movie Style, Thursday Throwback

Movie: Say Anything 

Song: In Your Eyes

Artist: Peter Gabriel

Album: So

Changed it up a tiny bit in choosing a movie for the Thursday Throwback this week….mainly because of a SONG in the movie! 

Just upon my saying the name of the movie, you can envision the scene.  The scene that makes the movie…   John Cusack’s character, Lloyd Dobler holding a boombox overhead, blaring “In Your Eyes” outside of Diane Court’s house. 

guy after a gal's heart....

Admit it ladies….

How many of you thought that was the sweetest thing ever?  I know I sure did!  I’d probably fall over flat on my face if my mister ever did that for me… cheesy or not, I’d take it in a heart beat!  I’m a cheesy romantic at heart… what can I say???

The overall premise of the movie is just sweet too… average boy chasing after an intelligent daddy’s girl.  Him seeking advice from his sister and girl friends.  Both trying to decide what they’re doing and where they’re going after graduation.  I just find the whole thing endearing. 

Some of my favorite quotes from the movie… and what I took from them…

 “One question: do you need… someone, or do you need me?… Forget it, I don’t really care.” – Lloyd  

Have you ever REALLY asked yourself that when in a relationship??? I have… If you answer that you need “someone” you’re not in the relationship with the right person.   I want to need that special person, not just anybody to fill a void.  When it’s right it will be right.

 “Why can’t you be in a good mood? How hard is it to decide to be in a good mood and be in a good mood once in a while?” – Lloyd

Sometimes being in a good mood, can be tricky!  It takes effort to pull yourself up and outta the dumps sometimes… Looking on the sunny side when things seem dreary is a CHOICE; one that we all have the ability to make, if we are willing to step up to the challenge.

“I don’t want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don’t want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed. You know, as a career, I don’t want to do that.” 

This sooooooo reminds me of where I was at upon entering my undergraduate work at Edinboro.  One minute I thought I wanted to be an accountant after having always thought I’d go in to education.  Then I toyed with the idea of social work, followed quickly by psychology…only to end up in none other than EDUCATION.  Go figure.  It’s so hard to know what you want to do with your life when you’ve just become an “adult.”  Here I am at age 32 and still don’t know EXACTLY what I want to do with my life… I mean I have ideas and goals, but I’m not COMPLETELY in charge of what goes on here.  I’ve got a little help from Someone else.  Just sayin’. 

In all of the glorious cheesiness that is 80’s pop culture, from the names of the characters to the songs and even the plot, Say Anything is an absolute winner in my book.

BUT THE SONG…. In Your Eyes is just completely beautiful… I WANT to feel this way about the man I marry… I want him to feel the same about me.

“in your eyes
the light the heat
in your eyes
I am complete
in your eyes
I see the doorway to a thousand churches
in your eyes
the resolution of all the fruitless searches
in your eyes
I see the light and the heat
in your eyes
oh, I want to be that complete
I want to touch the light
the heat I see in your eyes”

That may make me a dreamer… that may make me naive…

I will say that it makes me hopeful.  Hopeful that two people can find each other… love each other and fight for each other. 

There… that’s it; you’ve suffered through enough of my cheesy smorgasbord!

I don’t blame ya if you never came back after suffering through such a huge heap of romantic blubbering!  I just can’t help it!

I’m a romantic at heart…. All was have been.  Always will be.

10 thoughts on ““Say Anything” – Movie Style, Thursday Throwback

    • Thanks R! Sometimes I’m not sure if I’m a sucker or a glutton for punishment, but I’m sure in the end it will be worth the wait! No, worries; I won’t settle for anything less than I derserve.

  1. I am right there with you girlfriend! Lloyd Dobbler really is the guy every girl wants. I don’t think you are dreamer, I think it can happen (I am hoping it can and will some day).
    On the flip side, author Chuck Klosterman has a great piece about how John Cusack’s character has ruined his dating life, cause every girl wants a Lloyd of their very own!

    • Yay! Glad to know I’m not alone. 🙂 It will happen chica…I believe it will; in time! I’ll have to check that out; I’m sure it does hold some truth to it; poor guy!

  2. I love “Say Anything”, that’s 80’s done right. John Cusak was so cute, Diane while I got her issues, I just wanted to smack her and say, “HELLO, it’s totally romantic, succumb already succumb.” I think we all wished a hopeless romantic cute guy would come along, but in real life would it be weird, I hope I wouldn’t think it would be weird.

    • I KNOW! Snap out of it girl!!! It’s funny you should bring up it possibly being weird in real life. About 11 years ago or so, I had a fella in my life like that (close to it at least) and I hit the pavement running. I think I was his first girlfriend and it was all a bit too much for me at the time. Looking back on it now, I’d have loved to have that now! Funny how that happens!

  3. I love these strolls down memory lane! Loved the movie, love John and Peter… It was only yesterday when they were both sizzling hot… Time flies! 8)
    Eliz

What are you thinking?

