Totally 80’s

Ok… I must admit that last night’s Thursday Throwback about the movie, “Say Anything” and the song, “In Your Eyes” got me in the mood to listen to some good old 80’s music while reminiscing on all that made the 80’s so wonderfully cheesy! 

I am a product of the 80’s even though I was born in ’78. I mean, come on…. how much does one remember from the first 2 years of their lives??? Not too much.

BUT… I do remember watching Punky Brewster and thinking that her shoes were so cool! I remember wearing flourescent spandex shorts and now wishing that I didn’t. I loved wearing jelly shoes even if they hurt to high heavens and gave me blisters. I remember being beyond excited when I got my first Cabbage Patch doll, whose name was Gwendolyn Merlina, after my mom and aunt waited in a mob of people fighting to get one. I remember going to the movie theatre to see Rainbow Brite and The Care Bears and taking homemade popcorn into the theater. I do remember listening to my favorite 80’s songs well past the 80’s… some of these songs still remain my favorites today…. Come On Eileen, Beat It and Take On Me just to name a few!

I remember the awful outfits and horrible hair. Wearing banana clips and slap bracelets… I remember the pegged jeans, slouch socks and blue eye liner. The only saving grace was, we all looked just as ridiculous! This had got me thinking that I should dig out some pictures one of these days… I’m all for subjecting myself to a little embarrassment! Those will come in a later post! 🙂

Playing with Barbie Fashion Plates, Care Bears, Pound Puppies, My Little Ponies, Strawberry Shortcake….

My favorite "toy" of the 80s

Watching Family Ties, Growing Pains, Facts of Life, Who’s the Boss?, Silver Spoons My Two Dads, The Cosby Show, Mr. Belvedere, Different Strokes, Mork & Mindy and Perfect Strangers every week… 

Mooning over my favorite star crushes Kirk Cameron and Ricky Schroder. 

How could I resist these adorable faces????  I’m pretty sure I wasn’t alone in this! 

I really did LOVE the 80’s! 

A little ways back I got an email titled Child of the 80’s….  Take a stroll down memory lane with me… I got a good chuckle to say the least 🙂 

Cute... isnt it???

You remember Don Johnson when he was “cool” * You know who shot J.R * You remember when Michael Jackson was actually considered something of a sex symbol * You practice getting in and out of your car through the windows * You owned at least one skinny leather tie. * Your first Walkman weighed 10 pounds and was the size of a brick. * You wore L.A. Gear tennis shoes. * You know the meaning of Wax on/Wax Off * You’re always “in the mood for dancing” * If you can “See Better” with sunglasses that have paint splattered all over the lenses. * You wore lace gloves with the fingers cut off, bangle bracelets up to your elbows, bright red * Reebok high tops and parachute pants to a school dance * You need a shopping cart to carry your personal stereo with you. * You remember what Michael Jackson looked like before the surgery. * You go roller skating every Friday night (not to skate, but to ‘hang out’) * You still want to take Karate…(after you move to California) * You watch NYPD Blue thinking, “Well, they’re no Crockett and Tubbs, that’s for sure”. * “Outrageous!” is the term to describe something neat and cool

 * You think that Garbage Pail Kids are your children’s worst enemy*

You had a poster of Bo, Luke & Daisy Duke * There was nothing to question about Bert n’ Ernie living together * The feeling in your

Ferris

thumb is only now just returning after holding down the Atari joystick to control the racecar in Enduro Racer * You went out and purchased the sound track for ‘Miami Vice’ * You remember the magazines of song lyrics * If you think Hulk Hogan is the best wrestler of all time. * If the best non-slasher movie in your opinion is An American Werewolf In London. * Two words: The Clapper. * Six words: “This is your brain on drugs.” * You want to live in ‘the Valley’. * Ferris Bueller was your idol. * You watched ‘Star Search’ on a regular basis. * You can sing all the words to “One Night in Bangkok” by Murray Head, and now you understand that it is about chess.

If you had an entire wardrobe of Esprit clothing (or coveted one.) * If you know the words to the “Oscar Mayer” theme songs * Your bangs are teased perfectly to 7 inches above the rest of your hair. * Have multi-colored earrings that touch your shoulders * Played Upwords, Boggle or Trivial Pursuit (the original) on a rainy afternoon * You’re still bitter that WHAM broke up * You know whose phone number is 867-5309 * You drink Diet Coke because Max Headroom told you to * You can feel St. Elmo’s fire burnin’ in you.*

You still wear a bandana tied around your leg and/or a ponytail off-center on the side of your head. * You have the tendency to turn up the collar of your polo shirts * You never go out for a night on the town without frosted blue eyeshadow and feathered bangs * Everything in your wardrobe is either pastel or fluorescent * People are constantly gagging you with spoons. * You know all the words to “I’m just a bill, sitting up on Capitol Hill” and “School House Rock.” * The phrase “Where’s the beef?” still doubles you over with laughter. * You still can’t believe that Milli Vanilli was deceiving you all that time * Every now and then, you blurt out: “Ooh noo, Mr. Bill!!!”

When the Hoff was cool....

You still watch things on Beta tapes * You know who Martha Quinn is.  * You still carry your boom box on your shoulder * You think David Hasselhoff was awesome in Knight Rider but sucks in “Boob Watch.” * You wanted to be “The Hulk” for Halloween * A piece of folded paper and two hands could tell your fortune. * Knickers and leg warmers were cool * If you remember Bruce Willis from Moonlighting, not Die Hard * You had ringside seats for Luke and Laura’s wedding * You ever had a Dorothy Hammill haircut * You thought a Commodore 64 was the highest technology available

  • When you saw luging at the Winter Olympics you poured water down your driveway and tried it
        yourself.

You want to be “Where Everybody Knows Your Name” * ‘A Different World’ kicked butt * Remember “Dancin’ to a Big Mac at McDonalds!” * You know who played Magnum P.I * One Phrase, “The Plane, The Plane” * You can name at least three members of the Brat Pack

Still think banana clips were a godsend * Still wear Wet n’ Wild makeup * If your idea of hi-tech toys is still the heat-sensitive

What were we thinking????

color-changing sticker on Transformers * You ever wanted to learn to play “Stairway to Heaven” on the guitar and choreographed “Dancing Queen” by yourself in your room.  * You still wear your “Members Only” jacket. * You still have a couple of those barettes made of woven ribbons. * You had snap bracelets * You remember when Pee-Wee wasn’t a pervert. * You had five pairs of socks on at any given time * You still think Donkey Kong can beat Mario up * If you still have your scratch-n-sniff sticker collection * If you ever used Lee Press-On Nails * If you wear jelly shoes * If you remember when you heard that drinking soda and eating Pop Rocks would make your stomach explode. 

  • You still play with that CASIO SK-1 Keyboard

 * You’re still hoping for a New Kids on the Block reunion tour * You still argue over who was better: Tiffany or Debbie Gibson * Every time you hear the “OH YEAH…” song you think of “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off” *

OH,  THE MEMORIES!!!!  The good, the bad and the inbetween.  I definitely enjoyed reminiscing a bit… Hope you did too!!!

By the way….. I’m VERY happy to say that the New Kids on the Block ARE having a reunion tour… I will be attending in a few short months…. May even have to bust out my over sized pins. 😉

 Yup…. I love 80’s cheesiness!  How about you???

What were some of your best/worst memories from the 80’s?  Anything I forgot???

If the 80’s were before your time what do you find puzzling about the decade?

9 thoughts on “Totally 80’s

  1. Great memories, for sure. How about Friday Night Videos or only being able to watch cartoons on Saturdays? Soul Train and American Bandstand? MTV actually played videos!

    • Saturday cartoons were the BEST!!!!! Kids today have no clue what they’re missing. 🙂 Yes, MTV was awesome when they played videos all the time. I think the only time videos are on is at 3 AM when most “normal” individuals are sound asleep. We need to bring some of these things back!!!

  2. I had a care bears doll the four leaf colver one. I used to wear a hgh side ponytail in my hair not a good look 🙂 Kylie and Jason were big over here. Check out Especially for You on Youtube hilarious!

    • My care bear was pink and had a rainbow on the tummy. Oh, I definitely rocked the high side pony tail too…. At least we all looked silly together! 😀 I will definitely check out Kylie & Jason on youtube! Thanks girl!

  3. Girl, I’m right right there with you. I remember my Strawberry Shortcake doll and My Little Pony. Oh remember Pound Puppies? Those little plastic bracelets. I went to school with Kimmy Gibbler, my dance teacher got her the part. Weird huh?

    • Definitely remember Pound Puppies! So cute 🙂 No way? That’s pretty cool! I definitely didn’t even come close to anyone “famous” in my schooling!

      • Haha..I know famous huh? Well only to folks of our generation girl. I remember I thought Ricky, cuz he went by Ricky back in the day, Schroder was so cute. Were we ever so young Megan?

  4. Those pictures from the terrible eighties are priceless! Tacky and tasteless we all were at times, but we all had a blast in the 80s! 🙂
    Eliz

What are you thinking?

