GRRRR… WordPress does not like me lately.

Friday I wanted to post about my new gadget and the cool home I got for it… with lots of pictures. Ended up just posting about new songs I purchased instead…

Yesterday I wanted to document a much-needed, long over due day of pampering…with more pictures.  Ended up not posting at all… First day I didn’t post since March 5th…  That didn’t make me happy! 

AND, today I wanted to share pictures from my Easter visits with family….

BUT… WordPress is not cooperating!

Pictures won’t upload…

They won’t go in the placement I want them to be…

I can’t move them where I want them to go.

SOOOOOOOOOO, frustrating!

I started stressing about what to write…. WHY?  Well, because somewhere along the way I started pushing myself to post every day.  When I started the blog, I posted here and there… no rhyme or reason… Just when ever an idea popped into my head.  At the start of the year I committed to the PostAWeek challenge and somehow started posting everyday.  More recently topic ideas were getting a bit more difficult… causing me to stress and over-think things…Resulting in posts that aren’t very good!

I also found myself getting frustrated with stats and obsessing on numbers.  Why aren’t I getting as many hits as others?  No new subscribers in a while?  Seriously I was starting to obsess about it. 

Hmmmmm.  NOT why I started this blog in the first place…. I’m not sure when I started to care about the numbers, but I’ve decided to stop looking as often.  Yes, I want people to read my blog, but when I first started it, it was for me and me only to get the “stuff” outta my head.

I realized that sharing my thoughts with you shouldn’t be frustrating… Sharing my days with you shouldn’t be frustrating. 

Writing is something I love to do… pictures add to the story, but they don’t make the story. 

Writing for my blog shouldn’t be stressful…  It’s something I’ve enjoyed since I first started last June… It’s been therapeutic and has helped in healing; it’s helped me to meet some of the most amazing people that I never could have met otherwise… Some of which I consider to be honest, sincere and true friends. 

The numbers don’t matter… the pictures don’t matter.

Getting my story out there is what matters…

Sharing my story with you…

Each of you that stop by and read my ramblings matter…

So now i feel as if I’m a bit refocused.

If you don’t hear from me for a few days… no worries; all is well and good. I promise! 🙂 

I don’t want to post because I feel like I have to post. That’s not fair to you that come back to read. I wanna get back to writing the things I love to write about… sharing the things I want to share.  Writing the way I did to bring my readers to this blog in the first place.  By sharing bits ‘n pieces of me!!!

*** Wouldn’t it figure that adding a picture worked just as I wanted it to now???? Just sayin’.  ***

How do you stay true to the goal of your blog?  What do you do when you have trouble coming up with ideas?  Do you find the committment to posting daily/weekly to be daunting at times?

19 thoughts on “GRRRR… WordPress does not like me lately.

  1. I feel the same some days, I have a few drafts sitting around that I wrote and just don’t feel like they cut it. I will be back no matter how much you post, I love reading your stuff 🙂 It should make you happy…xoxo

    • Awww, thanks lady! You just made my day! I just needed to regroup and refocus… So glad that you enjoy reading! I so appreciate your suppory my friend… seriously, lucky! xoxo back at ya 🙂

  2. The commitment has been daunting but I’m kinda a stick to it girl… not always a good thing but helps with some discipline. I’d say go with what works for you. If you have time, do more, if not don’t… 🙂
    Hope your Easter weekend was fun!
    Eliz

    • Your posts are always wonderful Eliz… very good at what you do! The funny thing is, I never committed to the post–a-day! I committed to post a week… not sure where the pressure to post daily came from!!! No worries though; sure I’ll be posting lots still 🙂 Hope you had a great Easter as well!

  3. I have seen a few folks on WP openly questioning the “need” or “timing” to blog. I do try to post often but at the end of the day try to step back and make sure what I just proposed to hit “publish” on really is the best I can do on the topic(s) in question…and if it really looks like something I’ll be happy with after the fact. Less is more. Quality better than quantity. I have to remind myself of that. Numbers don’t matter. Pictures…I have not mastered that whole thingy yet and hardly use anyway. I concentrate on the words and hope people come to my blogs for…and stay for…the message within the words.

    • Great attitude! I completely agree… the message in the words is all that matters! The pictures took me a good while to “master” but still have my moments! 🙂

  4. The only real commitment that I have is to my Thankful Thursday posts. Other than that I just post when and what I want…it’s meant as an outlet for me…sure I hope that others read and enjoy it…but I blog as an outlet for stress…not to add to my stress!!

    • That’s the way I started out and where I wasnt to return too. I soooo agree… I blog to relieve stress not add stress. LOVE your Thankful Thursday posts! They always make me smile! 🙂

  5. This is great, Megan! I mean, it’s not great that WordPress isn’t cooperating right now, but more that you are getting back to why you first started your blog in the first place. I’m so glad for you. It’s easy to get caught up in numbers and feeling like you have to blog, but that just sucks the joy outta blogging. So yeah, glad to read this!

  6. I think a lot of people are getting a bit frustrated with the exact same thing. You are not alone. Somewhere just writing our thoughts and posting them has become some sort of stressful event, and we start to worry about the number. In a way it’s one more thing we end up competing over and then it sort of becomes like a status symbol. It’s supposed to be fun and a hobby, not work and not stressful. When it gets like that I think it’s best to take a bit of a rest, repair your heart from the stress.

    Remember we love you and support you, and you are doing a great job.

    • Awww, thanks so much D! You all ( my blogging friends) are so awesome! Your love and support and so appreciated and means a TON! You are so right… the numbers game can turn into a bit of a “status symbol” competition… so not necessary yet so easy to get caught up! Thank so much for your support D!!! You rock! 🙂

  7. Hi! Glad I’m not the only one who felt that way! and I have had problems with photos! They don’t go where you want them! Always on top! But, I have gotten back to the reason why I blog! To also get stuff outta my mind, and just to write! Have a great day!

    • Definitely not alone!!! Ughhh, yes! The photos on the top only was driving me CrAzY!!! Keep on writing chica to get all of that stuff out… I’ll be doing the same! Thanks for stopping by… You have a great day also! 🙂

What are you thinking?

