Lookin’ for Fun and Feelin’ Groovy!

The first part would be true if the second part were true!  But for the last week, I’ve not quite been feeling too groovy at all actually!

The culprit: KIDNEY STONES

BLEH!!! OUCH!!! YUCK!!!

That’s just putting it mildly!  😉

I’ll spare ya the details but lemme tell ya, they are no fun at all.  I’ve had them several times over the last couple of years and usually gain some relief after about 2 or 3 days.  This time around I am going on a week.

A week of icks, yucks and hurting.  So much so that I sucked it up to go to Med Express on Saturday after the Ethnic and Craft Festival I did (which turned out to be yet another flop…I’ll deal with that in a later post though.).

Basically, after x-rays, blood work, antibiotics and pain pills, I just have to ride out the storm for now.  Nothing was seen in the films they took and all my blood work checked out to be a-okay.  I was SUPER happy to get that call today!

Now, just waiting for the “passing” to occur!  🙂

I’ve done a bit of online research over the last couple of years about causes and prevention and such.  Most talk about the contributions that your diet makes to kidney stone issues.  Oxalates are known to contribute to the formation of kidney stones… Guess what?!  Oxalates are found in many, many things but high levels of oxalates are found in LOTS of healthy foods.  VEGGIES!!!!  FRUITS!!!! Guess who started trying to eat a bit more healthy than I had been in recent months?!?!  That would be this girl… tons of spinach, peppers, carrots, tomatoes, mushrooms, and olives have been HUGE in my recent meals. Hmmmmm.  Other foods that are high in oxalates that I eat a ton of  and/or love are grapes, breakfast cereals (Fiber One Shredded Wheat 😦 ),  potatoes, lots of grains and CHOCOLATE!!! I’ve also seen recommendations to limit your dairy intake too…. What’s left?  Too much protein can lead too other types of kidney stones…

Needless to say, I’ve got some changes to make.  As with any dietary changes, it’s all about moderation.  You’re not going to see me drop chocolate completely… don’t think I could do that!!! I had already began limiting my caffeine consumption due to the kidney issues; I never keep anything other than water to drink at home unless I am having company.

I let myself get stressed and run down which also probably played a role in some way or another.  So, I am gonna try practicing that NO word.  No more craft shows until November; Going to try to limit all the craziness on the weekends and pulling late nights.  Gotta take care of myself!  Who else is gonna do it?  Gotta do it myself…

So as I’m waiting to feel better…. I’m leaning on my friends Simon and Garfunkel, listening to the

The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin’ Groovy)

Can’t help but feel a little better after hearing it!  🙂

Another of my favorites….

6 thoughts on “Lookin’ for Fun and Feelin’ Groovy!

  1. I’ve had them, and you’re right, they are not fun! My sister was actually in the hospital this past November from a stone. Hers was a rare type of stone that exploded when they tried to blast it and spread bacteria in her system. She is finally now getting back in to her old self. If you can collect it for screening when you pass it to see what the exact make up is so you know what to avoid.

    • I don’t have insurance, so I try to deal with them on my own as often as possible. It took a lot for me to go to Med Express! Glad to hear your sister is finally getting back to normal. They’re rough!!!

What are you thinking?

