Breaking the Habit…

How tobacco affects your body

Image via Wikipedia

Don’t know why I ever started….

Not sure what convinced me to even pick ’em up….

Breaking the nicotine habit is no easy feat….

I had a goal set for by my birthday thanks to a bet with a blogging buddy, but given my recent job situation the need to quit was expedited.

A bit grumpy… emotional… headaches… dizziness… pins ‘n needles feeling…  It’s gonna get worse before it gets better.

Trying to keep busy and trying to sleep a lot…

For me the “routine smokes”  are the ones I’m having the most trouble getting over.  The ones after a meal or when I’m talking on the phone or driving…

If you’ve never smoked… or have never tried to quit, it’s really not that easy.

 

BUT, I will do it.  I can do it.

Making a change for the better; one day at a time. 🙂

20 thoughts on “Breaking the Habit…

    • I’m trying Kath- It sucks!!! An old friend of mine described the beginning as feeling like his skeleton was gonna crawl outta his skin… He was sooooooo right!

    • Wow! Good for you for quitting for 4 years…. what made you start back up? I can honestly say that iwhen I make it through this, I don’t think I’ll be starting up again simply for the fact that I don’t think I can handle going through the quitting part of it again. This is awful!!!!

  1. Oooh, I’m working on that part as well… Or not really trying but I have decreased them a lot, sometimes just one every other day, but i’ve realized that I start to eat to compensate. How do you keep yourself distracted?

    Keep it up!

    • Thank you!

      I’ve been trying to run a lot more… Drinking tons of water…. lots of gum (NOT NICOTINE GUM EITHER). For me it has really been changing my routines or getting used to my normal ones without lighting a cigarette. For example, I still go outside and sit on my deck in the mornings as I would when I was smoking, but now I just catch up on my blogs or read a little bit. IT IS TOUGH!!!

      The hardest part so far is being around people that are smoking. I was at an outdoor concert last weekend and while those I were immediately with were considerate enough to walk away from our seats to smoke, there were others near by that lit up, making me want one BADLY!!!

      Just trying to stay strong… Good luck to you! Hang in there! 🙂

What are you thinking?

