Try not to think about anything. Just try it; I dare you.

image

Today’s daily prompt for the Post a Day challenge had to have been written with me in mind! I mean for real, there is now way anyone else in the world could relate as well as I did to this particular prompt…

Ok, ya.

SO.NOT.TRUE.

But, the prompt really does fit me well, especially in recent weeks.

Try to think about nothing for as long as you can. Describe what happens.

Last night, the night before and the night before that night I’ve tried to do this… it.didn’t.work.at.all.

The exact opposite happens in fact. Of course this generally occurs when I am getting ready for bed or am in bed trying to fall asleep.

I go for a run… take a nice long bath… read a book… listen to tunes… write….

All in hopes of emptying the contents of my over active brain…hoping to preempt any straggling,  nagging notions that may be lying dormant throughout the business of my day.

To no avail, the minute my head hits the pillow those straggling & nagging notions that lay dormant arise from their slumber & begin spewing about.

The moment in which I TRY not to think about anything is the exact moment in which the whatifs take hold and dominate; forsaking any chance of a peaceful sleep I may have envisioned for a mere moment’s time.

The whatifs don’t discriminate or differentiate by importance or severity … minute & minuscule matters  to  the large & grandiose … finding a job, family, friends,  relationships,  crafty projects, weather… you name it, I am sure there is a whatif associated right along side.

Perhaps the key to NOT thinking about anything is thinking about something!

Or perhaps I should locate that mysterious button I’ve heard of in passing … the one that shuts off the brain???? If I was given one when I was born 33 years ago it surely must have gone defective by age 5 because the whatifs have been my steady bedside companion for as long as I can remember.  Can I get a refund? Or perhaps an even exchange on a new one?

In the mean time, please excuse me as I begin my nightly attempt to purge my brain… attempting to think about nothing.  Or was it something?!?

Oh and if in your attempt to not think about anything you need something to read, feel free to read a bit about my friend, Whatif.  And if you still aren’t convinced… This failure of not thinking about anything and I have a long formed relationship…. months ago I wrote my manifesto, To sleep or not to sleep as added evidence for your reading pleasure.

You can thank me later… I’m a good friend, just sharing the love. 🙂

Posted from WordPress for Android

10 thoughts on “Try not to think about anything. Just try it; I dare you.

    • It is such a battle isn’t it? But, happy to say I slept beautifully last night! Perhaps the rant helped to dump it all out for once! Glad you found me as well! Welcome 🙂

    • That is a valid question! I believe it is all about an individual’s respective perspective… For me they are essentially the same thing. 🙂

What are you thinking?

