Four score and seven years ago…

Well, maybe not quite that long….

More like 15 years to be exact.

That’s how long it’s been since I’ve graduated high school.  And my 15 year reunion crept on me with all kinds of crazy quickness.

I know, I know.  You’re surprised by that…. Like, “How could Megan really be old enough to be 15 years outta high school?!”  😉

I must admit that I was quite apprehensive about going. Quite honestly, I didn’t much want to go at all. (No offense to any of my classmates.) My reasons being: 1. Not married & no kids 2. Not even in a relationship 3. Not exactly where I thought I’d be professionally. 4. I don’t look much like I did back then. Ya, I know… not the best reasons at all, but that’s what I was feeling about 3 months ago.

While I am personally OK with all of the above, answering the questions of who, what, when, where & why of all that stuff was not really something I wanted to spend the night doing. I am at a MUCH different place now than I was when we initiated talks of the reunion & not to mention the difference between where I am now & where I thought I’d be when I was just outta high school.

But here’s the thing I had to keep reminding myself of (with the help of a couple of friends) … life happens. How could I have possibly known at age 17 what my life was going to turn out like?  Hell, I still don’t know where I’m going & what I’m meant to do at 33… you know what I mean?

The kicker of the whole thing is that as I sat here trying to come up with excuses as to why I shouldn’t go or why I didn’t want to go, I KNEW I NEEDED TO GO. I was one of the people PLANNING THE REUNION.  I needed to swallow the big girl pill, suck it up and catch up with old friends.  I needed to look on the sunny-side and just be me.  So what if I’m not married.  So what if I don’t have kids.  So what if I am working in a field outside of my “chosen” field.  Who cares if I’ve put on some weight since I was 17 years old.  I mean, seriously?!?  Those were my reasons!

"Fizzle Awards" - Me on the left

Why the heck was I worrying and fretting?!?!?  I was even voted “Most Changed” during our senior year when the “fizzle awards” came out…  (Still not sure if that was a good thing or a bad thing! 😉  )

A LOT changes in 15 years.  I think I should have been more concerned if I HADN’T changed at all in the last 15 years….

It all started when one of my good friends and fellow classmates and I started talking about planning a reunion about a year and a half ago and somehow the time flew and the reunion is over and done with as of last weekend.

After generating some ideas & doing some preliminary leg work to find a venue a year ago, I just kind of sat back & let time tick away.  Before we knew it the reunion was here and lots needed to be done. Carrie took on invitations, pricing, RSVP’s and such, while I was making the donation box and putting together the slide show.  The other Megan was in charge of the cake and Bethany took to getting pricing for near by hotels and name tags.  Couldn’t have asked for a better group of gals to work with. 🙂

Sooooooooooooo….. here’s the jest of the story.

I had fun…

… it was a really good time.

AND it wasn’t that difficult at all.

Everything came together beautifully. Those who helped plan were phenomenal. Catching up with old friends & acquaintances was great.

Somethings never change while so much has changed for us all.

Those that didn’t make it were truly missed.  Hopefully we’ll have more classmates be able to attend the next one.  20 out of 82 isn’t too bad I suppose considering we’re spread out all over the place doing all sorts of things.

We remembered one classmate who was there with us in spirit and collected donations in her honor and memory for her charity, the Kristy Lasch Miracle Foundation.

“Before she died, Kristy envisioned creating an organization to help younger breast cancer patients. She knew too well how financially cumbersome the disease could become, and the unique challenges of having the disease at such a young age. The Kristy Lasch Miracle Foundation was created in her memory, and honors her dream.”  -Excerpted from kristylasch.org.

She was a classmate to us all, a friend to many and a spirit that couldn’t be shaken.  To read more about her story or to make a donation to the foundation, please visit www.kristylasch.org.  Every little bit helps!

THANKS to all who came and to those that helped.  Hope to see more at the 20th!

3 thoughts on “Four score and seven years ago…

What are you thinking?

