Tides Of Change…

365 days ago today, I wrote of Expectations.  Expectations of myself and for myself.  Expectations of others and for life.  Expectations of the year to come and for all that I would be presented with.  If you’ve not read it, please take a minute to do so. It is still one of my favorite posts to date, written well before I had many readers.

When I wrote that post on expectations on December 31st of 2010, I had not a clue as to what the year would hold for me.

365 days.  525, 600 minutes.

So much can change.

So much can happen.

And believe me… it did.

Since then…. I became an aunt for the 6th time in July when we welcomed Jimmer to the world.

I just can't get enough of those cheeks!!!

 

I went to 7 concerts and wrote about some of them here…

1.) Jason Myles Goss2.) Iron & Wine3.) The Avett Brothers4.) Kenny Chesney & Zac Brown Band, 5.) NKOTBSB6.) Scott Blasey7.) Incubus

 

I lost my job and got a new job that is COMPLETELY outside of my “chosen” field…

I tried online dating and swore it off indefinitely…

I tried a bunch of new recipes and started running again… I’ve had cereal for dinner and not run as much…

I’ve written lots and taken breaks…  I’ve done a ton and nothing too.

This year has been a complete whirlwind of excitement and change… triumphs and letdowns…

Goal setting and achievements… fresh starts and lots of change.

Time spent with this adorable face….

"I want it!" All P-Dub wanted all night was a pool ball... the boy gets what he wants.

 

And getting to watch this kid grown up….

B-Shane playing Uncle Chuck's guitar

Wouldn’t trade a second… except maybe for more time to get to spend with the 5 nephews and 1 niece…

But what never ceases to amaze me is the fact that I never stop learning.  I continue to grow and change with each let down… I grow further and change more with every triumph.

I’ve become stronger with every challenge that has faced me.  Momentarily I may have been weakened by those struggles presented, I try to come out kicking and screaming when all else fails and usually come out on top.

Looking back on these 365 days, I have met some amazingly phenomenal people… I’ve lost some that I thought were friends…. I’ve reconnected with some I haven’t seen in years.

I’ve got to spend time with those I love and who matter most.  I’ve gotten to know and love so many people so much better through talking, writing, chatting, sharing of music, sharing of thoughts…

I’ve had days where I felt completely defeated only to wake up the next feeling excited and rejuvenated.

Quite honestly even with the bumps and bridges… the haves and the have-nots… the what is’ and the what if’s…  I wouldn’t trade a single moment of these 365 days.  Not one minute of the 525,600 moments I was given will be tossed aside.

As the new year once again awaits me I am left to wonder what exactly the universe has in store…

The curve balls keep on coming having gone to the ER the other night… things aren’t all peachy in the “health department” but I’ll spare ya all the details… all I can do is roll with the punches…

I’m going to do what I can with what I have… I’m going to continue to be thankful for those I have and those I can count on…  Be thankful I HAVE insurance and it’s gonna cover everything. 🙂  Woo hoo!

What I am NOT going to do is come up with a list of resolutions… I’ve tried it, I’ve never stuck to ’em.  I’ve made lists and wishes and promises.  I’ve resolved to do this and do that and forget what the this and that are before the 10th of January.

What I am going to do each and every day of this coming year is something we should all do each and every day…

I am letting go of the weights that held me down for far too long and chose instead to be grateful for the good given in each moment of every day.  That’s not an easy thing to do, but I am certainly going to give it a try…

Happy new year to you my loves… May you all celebrate safely and enjoy all that you have and all those you love.

 

xoxo

 

 

11 thoughts on “Tides Of Change…

  1. love reading your blog. so glad things are looking up for you. you are an awesome girl. i hope that 2012 brings you all the peace and happiness you deserve.
    kathy

    • Awww, thanks Kathy… I’m glad you enjoy reading it… Sometimes I wonder if anybody actually does! Happy and healthy new year to you and yours my friend.

  2. Pingback: The hoopla « Maggie Mae's Days

  3. Pingback: Tides Of Change… | FreePokerSchool.tk

  4. Pingback: Homepage

What are you thinking?

