Getting Back In the Swing Of Things

Home from work, comfy clothes on, dinner already in my tummy, cozy on the couch settling in to watch Grey’s Anatomy.

Happily taking only one pill tonight instead of 4 different pills daily, multiple times a day, as I had been doing for almost 2 weeks straight.

I went to the doctor’s office Tuesday and was overjoyed by the removal of the ridiculously awful stent…

I am very happy to announce that all is right in the world of my left kidney again now that sucker is outta there. You can rest easy my friends, I no longer wanna scream or cry when I pee. 🙂 I know, a heavy weight has been lifted off your shoulders now that you’ve gotten an update on my bathrooming habits.  I promise to keep my mentioning of it here in the immediate future. 🙂

With the beast removed, I was FINALLY able to go back to work after having missed more days than I wanted. I would be lying if I told you I was looking forward to going back. Having only been in this new position on my own for a week and a half prior to the stones rocking my world I was already behind… then after missing a week and a half… holy loads of work to be piled up just waiting for me.

The only consolation being that if I was able to return to work that would then mean I’d be feeling better. I was beyond ready to start feeling better.

So after the appointment, several self-motivating pep talks, good luck wishes from family & friends and some “bring me to my happy place” music, I headed on over to jump back in to work.

I wasn’t even halfway through the door when I got slammed…

… with big smiles and welcome backs… how are yous and hugs…

Before I was even able to drop off my purse, bag & coat at my desk, I was stopped & sidetracked over and over…

…not by issues or problems but by co-workers offering help, touching base on progress & inquiries of my well-being.

I was backed up and taken care of and helped and supported the whole time I was out… and that help has continued well into this week as I’m getting back into the swing of things.

It’s not been an easy week by any means … there have been hiccups along the way but my days were made all that much easier by the pitching in and support I’ve received from my co-workers.

After having only worked here for several months, I couldn’t have been made to feel more welcome than I was upon my return. I was made to feel like I belonged there even though my background doesn’t necessarily say that I do.

You know that saying “Everything happens for a reason” that I heard more times than I ever wanted to in the month after I lost my job? The one that made me want to punch something every time I heard it, even if I was the one repeating it to myself.

 

But I know deep down it is the truth… everything does happen for a reason. I am being challenged on a daily basis, learning scrupulous amounts of information and basically starting over… not many people get that opportunity. Plus, I now have pretty awesome insurance … something I didn’t have in the past. Everything happens for a reason… even if it’s not immediately apparent.  Even if you have to go through a bunch of nonsensical crap you can’t even make heads or tails of.  EVERYTHING does happen for a reason.

So there you have it… one more day left in this work week remains. I’m pretty sure it’ll be a long one and that’s just fine by me.

Health-wise I’ve got a few more bridges to cross… but for now, the immediate is remedied.

Thanks for your get-well wishes… you’ve helped me along the way…

Getting back to normal a little at a time…

I think it’s safe to say I’m working on getting back into the swing of things… Pretty darn happy to be doing so if I don’t say so myself.

Posted from WordPress for Android

Posted from WordPress for Android

One thought on “Getting Back In the Swing Of Things

What are you thinking?

