Turning Shades of Green

Green is absolutely one of my most favorite colors closely followed by blue…. pretty much always has been…

Actually I should clarify.  I’ve always loved SHADES of blue and green.

 

The pretty earthy greens that have a tinge of brown to them and the lime-ish,  sage-y greens that aren’t too pale or too robust… and the blues that I love are more of a blueish, teal-ish, aqua-ish nature to be exact.

My blue and green crackle glass

I’m not a huge fan of Christmas green or shamrock green… they’re a bit too bold for my liking.  And forest green is much too dark for my taste.

Royal blue doesn’t float my boat.  Neither does baby blue, unless of course it is paired with a dark brown.  I actually really like navy blue when it’s paired with my favorite shades of green-ish, blueish, teal-ish colors.

My favorite place mats and table-cloth... Though they are never both on my table at the same time. 🙂

Some say that there is a correlation between colors and your personality, but through what I have found online and seemingly unreliable online color test quizzes I would beg to differ… One quiz I took said my personality color was bright purple (ummmm, no…); another said red… which I do love, but can’t say that it’s my favorite…

Many times blues and greens can be associated with less than positive emotions such as envy, depression, sickness… For me  though, they are happy colors… colors that remind me of the coming of spring and the warm days of summer…

My summer quilt

So you can imagine how much I’m dreaming of blues and greens these days with the FREEZING temperatures that keep rocking back and forth between unseasonably warm days for January.

 

A couple of weeks ago though, I had a pretty bad run in with the color green.

Remember when I was home for nearly two weeks because of the dreaded kidney stones and surgery and what not?!

Ya, well… for those of you that know me well, I can’t be left to sit in my apartment for nearly two weeks without setting foot outside without going stir crazy… So, I decided to dye my hair.  My very highlighted, overly blonde hair… with a box dye.

I was nervous about doing so, but thought I’d give it a shot in an effort to save a few bucks since I had been off work for some time.  Good idea right????

So, I did some research… answering a series of questions on a well-known beauty products website.  The premise was they ask questions, you answer and they would then recommend which specific color choice from their line  would be the best match based on my natural color, degree of previously color-treated hair (all the shades of blonde taking over my  head) and the overall health of my hair.  Easy enough, right???

Went to the store (Illegally I might add… I technically wasn’t supposed to leave the house, but I was feeling quite a bit rebellious, I suppose. That and I did already have an appointment to get my hair cut later in the day. 😉  ) and picked the shade recommended.  After which I came directly home to proceed with application… mix, apply, set timer, rinse, dry…..

Hmmmmm….  maybe the lighting was off in my bathroom???

Hmmmmm….. maybe my eyes were a little wonky????

It seemed as though I saw a tinge of green… so, I looked in another mirror.

Shit, it looked worse.  GREAT.

Overall though, I decided it wasn’t THAT bad.

Until I walked into the hair salon for my hair cut.  Damn that lighting is awful.  My hair was CLEARLY shades of green.

Really???!!!

Yes, I love green… I love shades of green… but shades of green inadvertently rooting themselves on my head?!  Ya, no.thank.you.

BUT, I decided I was just gonna have to deal with it… until the stylist comes over to start cutting… runs her fingers through and started giving me the lecture…

Ya, I messed up.  I NEVER should have attempted to color over the blondeness that once occupied the top of my head.  I CLEARLY should have left it up to the professionals… Trying to save a buck or two ended up costing me more in the end… Because, guess what?

Not only did I get a hair cut… I had my hair dyed… and I’m not longer blonde.  Not even close.  Not even by a smidge.

  I am now a brunette/redhead….

And, I really think I like it!  It’s a nice change for the winter… It’s completely different that it’s been in years…

It’s kinda like a fresh start to the new year…

Thinking I’ll keep it for a while.

One thing I know for sure… while I love the color green, I can in fact say that I’d prefer not to see those shades of green ever again.  🙂

Lesson Learned…

Happy Friday Friends!!!

6 thoughts on “Turning Shades of Green

  1. Oh no, that sounds terrible. But I think the brunette can be a nice change of pace and it looks quite nice. So it all worked out. I feel like coloring my hair too. I was thinking of blue black. But I hate dying it because of the way it makes my hair feel. So I’m not sure yet.

What are you thinking?

