I’ll Get By With a Little Help From My Friends

I’m a lucky gal.

Seriously.

Sometimes though, I forget and need to give myself a swift kick in the shins to get my act together and straighten myself out.

And if that doesn’t work one of my loves will step in at the bottom of the 9th & push me round the bases to make sure I at least attempt to bring in that game winning run.

And if that STILL doesn’t work I always have my tunes to fall back on. 😉

If anything I’ve learned in the last 8 months or so it’s that surrounding yourself with positive people makes a whole world of difference!  If you surround yourself with negativity, it will undoubtedly rub its nasty hand off on ya… so steer clear of it at all costs!  That’s not to say we all don’t have days… but I’m pretty thankful that they are few and far between!

To that end, I consider myself to be quite lucky to live where I live… there are 13 apartments in my building and generally every one is so pleasant… We make good neighbors… with the exception of the over-exuberant hockey/football watching moments during which NO ONE in the complex needs to turn their tv on to know the score of a game. 🙂  But seriously, it that’s the WORST that happens around here, I WILL TAKE IT!  We all look out for each other, which I find to be awesome.  It reaffirms my belief that good people do exist in this world and that with a little act of kindness and some common courtesy it’s not too hard to bring a smile to someone’s face.  We work together when needed or help out whenever possible.

One example that comes to mind right away was the “ice storm” we got a little ways back… I started chipping the ice off on an older neighbor’s car while mine warmed up… In the meantime another neighbor came out to help me with the older neighbor’s car and then mine since someone else had already cleaned her car off!  How awesome is that?!  Oh AND I have 2 awesomely fabulous neighbors who will lift my windshield wipers up when they’re calling for snow/icy stuff so they’re not frozen to the windshield!  That makes my morning when I see that!!!

Another example would be when I was down and out because of my “stone issues” :/…. I had neighbors leaving bags of dvd’s at my door, offers for store runs and tons of messages just to check in and see if I was ok…

If we see someone’s car has been in the same parking spot for days on out, we check in.  We’ll hold the door when we see someone pull in the lot so they don’t have to dig their keys out…

Simple things… little things… those are the things that make living here pretty darn good by my standards…

So…. can ya do me a favor?  Hold the door for the person behind you…. put someones shopping cart away for them… or here’s really throwing something out there….. smile at someone for no reason at all!

You’ll be surprised at the rewards that will come… 🙂

Posted from WordPress for Android

3 thoughts on “I’ll Get By With a Little Help From My Friends

  1. It’s always good to have folks around who are willing to look out for each other. My neighbors have been like that. I’m on the mend from heart surgery at the moment, so I’m hoping the pattern will hold when I return home from my short stay with my parents. 😀

What are you thinking?

