Take me as I am

It’s funny how sometimes a quote or song lyrics just really strike accord with me… Like they were put into the universe specifically for me.

It’s actually kinda freaky to me just how often it occurs.

My brother-in-law’s sister posted the above quote on Facebook this evening… It was the very first thing I saw after a REALLY long day of work, running here and there, grocery shopping,  making & eating dinner and sorting through some things.  It was pretty much perfect.

Perfect for me.

Take me as I am or watch me as I go…

How absolutely amazing is that thought?

Often times, I concern myself far too much with what people think of me or how they view me.  Whether my words will be offensive or if my actions were the cause for things that quite frankly were COMPLETELY outta my control.  I often wonder what makes individuals feel so inclined to offer opinions on personal matters when none were solicited. Or the times when I doubted myself and my confidence wavered because of someone else’s insecurities and superficiality seeping through.

I sit here reminded of how often I’ve doubted myself in the past because of the actions or inactions of others.

Take me as I am or watch me as I go…

I wonder, truly wonder just how many times in my life I have let the opinion of another influence my thoughts, words or actions in a negative manner… I know, in my heart of hearts that I have fallen prey to that more times than I’d care to admit.

It’s funny how quick we are to fall into doubting ourselves because of one person or a single situation.

In this last year, I have come a long way…

I recently decided to take a dive back into the dating world…. I know, right?!  I’m just as surprised as you!

There is honestly nothing more nerve-wracking than dating.  The initial date is either a flop or a fly…. You fumble around, purse spilling out all over the floor within the first 5 minutes of meeting, and find your way through the potentially awkward hellos and goodbyes.  I am A-Okay with that. It’s part of the fun, right?!  At least that’s what I’m telling myself. 😉

Take me as I am…. or watch me as I go… 🙂

After a first date how many of you think….  “What did I say? What shouldn’t I have said?  Did I ask too much?  Want too much?  Not enough?  Was I pretty enough?”  I know I have in the past!

Right now… where I am is a TOTALLY different place… One that I couldn’t be happier about.  I know now, that if it doesn’t work out it’s because that person just wasn’t the right one for me.  If a man truly wants to be with me, he will move mountains just to spend 5 minutes with me…  A good friend of mine and my best friend and her husband all reminded me of that (SERIOUSLY LADIES… REMEMBER THAT!)

Every experience in life is preparation for the next big thing coming your way.

Don’t doubt yourself… Don’t question why because it wasn’t meant to be.

SOMEDAY I will have that perfect match in my life… until then….

While I try to please those in my life,  the truth of the matter is, it’s my life.  People come and yes, some go… the ones that CHOOSE to go don’t have a clue what they’re missing out on.   And if the one’s that stay aren’t adding to your life?  The one’s that aren’t giving you what you deserve or need?

Just tell them… it’s really, a quite simple concept…

Take me as I am or watch me as I go…

3 thoughts on “Take me as I am

What are you thinking?

