Procrastination Station

I always meet deadlines.  Honestly I think I thrive on deadlines. 

An uninformed bystander would be apt to think I have a systematic, methodical plan established, detailing a rigid schedule of individual tasks to be completed to successfully meet the deadline and overall end goal.

I’d like to say that is true.

But, my momma taught me not to lie.

Truth be told this girl is a procrastinator.  Always have been and more than likely always will be.
From cramming for exams in high school and college to drafting research manuscripts for grad school to pretty much all my crafty adventures to brushing my teeth just as I am about to be walking out the door to getting my car inspected during the last week of the month it’s due.  (OK, actually I take the last one back … my car was actually inspected a whole month early this year! Once in a life time occurance, I can assure you. )

Quite honestly, some of my aboslute BEST work has been completed just minutes before the time is to run out. Some of the best (and longest) papers I’ve ever written were products of literally no sleep for almost 40 hours and taken directly from the printer to be handed to a professor while the paper was still warm. A maid of honor speech that I stayed up until 3 AM writing the night before the wedding only to he thrown out and a new one uttered on the fly in cue with the DJ’s go ahead. Wedding invitations made through the wee hours of the morning on the day the bride is expecting them in her hands.

This blog post for example, has been nearly finished for quite some time… I just needed to finish it. A whole week later I am finally getting to it.

Don’t let this scare you from asking me to take on a project for you. Just ask any one… I’ll get the job done, one way or another in due time.

Sure, I’ll be stressed … more than likely I’ll get frustrated through the process.

Nonetheless, I enjoy the process. I suppose I enjoy working down to the wire… I enjoy finally seeing a product through to the end … celebrating it’s completion. Not now though…

I’ll celebrate later … after I brush my teeth just before I walk out the door. 😉

Posted from WordPress for Android

2 thoughts on “Procrastination Station

What are you thinking?

