When I Grow Up

As an itty bitty little one, I dreamt of becoming a ballerina, with pretty pink frilly tutus and pale pink ballet shoes. I did dance for a while, starting when I was 3 years old.  I don’t remember quite how long I danced for, but you all know I am not the most graceful of beings. 🙂

Then I wanted to be a teacher…. I always loved school supplies!

 

Then for a brief moment I decided I wanted to go to college for accounting and become a CPA…  An A in high school accounting does not an accountant make… I was never one to be tied to a desk and crunching numbers….

As a grown woman, I’ve found that priorities change… Goals change…

THANK HEAVENS for that!  I mean would you REALLY wanna see this girl in a pink tutu????!!!  I THINK NOT!  I don’t even wanna see that! 😉

Instead, making a conscious decision, I want to be kind and caring; generous and forthcoming; sincere and genuine; creative and free-spirited.

As I’ve grown up I’ve learned that the path I’ve ended up on is exactly where I’m meant to be.

As I’ve grown up I’ve chosen to be understanding and empathetic.

As I’ve grown I am proud.  Proud of where I am today and proud of where I stand today.

I may not have it all, but I’ve got what matters… a roof over my head, a job that I love, a pretty fantastic family and some phenomenal friends.

Yes, disappointment will surface now and again… but with every disappointment comes a fresh start or a new beginning.

About a year ago, I got a fresh start that I didn’t ask for.    Looking back on the situation nearly a year later, I see it not as a door slamming in my face as I surmised at the time.  Not at all. In fact it was a huge door opening for me.

I got the chance to be what I’ve ALWAYS wanted to be.  Something, well someone, I’ve been destined to be since the very moment I was born.

Stepping out of my comfort zone, into an unknown future, having not a clue in the world where I was going or what I was doing…

That’s when I decided exactly what I wanted to be when I grew up…

I just wanted to be me.

That’s it. Something that I’ve been doing since the day I was born… JUST BEING MYSELF.  Living life and doing what I like to do…

Loving my music… being “crafty” and creative… learning new things… spending time with family and friends.

I think that’s good enough, don’t you?  I do.

 

As always,

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “When I Grow Up

    • Mine too!!! and Thank you! I’ve always been a doodler so I thought it time to make use of my doodling and combine with one of my favorite things… song lyrics! 🙂

  1. Looking back I think the difficulty in life is not becoming who we want to be, but becoming who we are meant be. A very thought provoking post and well written; I like the pictures too, very ‘bouncy’!

What are you thinking?

